Austin critics are in love with ‘Her,’ Brie Larson notches up another win

12.17.13 4 years ago 25 Comments

Warner Bros. Pictures

You’d expect the perennially hip cinephile crowd of Austin to veer slightly left of center when choosing their year-end winners, and the Austin Film Critics Association duly resisted the recent “12 Years a Slave” avalanche — just. Steve McQueen’s film is their #2 of the year, and picked up wins for Actor, Supporting Actress and Adapted Screenplay, but was pipped to Best Picture by Spike Jonze’s “Her,” which also took Original Screenplay and a special award for Scarlett Johansson’s voice work. Meanwhile, Brie Larson landed another two wins for Best Actress and Breakthrough — at this rate, she could well be the spoiler in the Oscar race. Full list of winners after the jump; everything else at The Circuit

Best Film: “Her”

Best Director: Alfonso Cuarón, “Gravity”

Best Actor: Chiwetel Ejiofor, “12 Years a Slave”

Best Actress: Brie Larson, “Short Term 12”

Best Supporting Actor: Jared Leto, “Dallas Buyers Club”

Best Supporting Actress: Lupita Nyong’o, “12 Years a Slave”

Best Original Screenplay: Spike Jonze, “Her”

Best Adapted Screenplay: John Ridley, “12 Years a Slave”

Best Cinematography: Emmanuel Lubezki, “Gravity”

Best Score: Arcade Fire, “Her”

Best Foreign Language Film: “Blue is the Warmest Color”

Best Documentary: “The Act of Killing”

Best Animated Film: “Frozen”

Best First Film: “Fruitvale Station”

Breakthrough Artist: Brie Larson, “Short Term 12”

Best Austin Film: “Before Midnight”

Special Honorary Award: Scarlett Johansson, for her outstanding voice performance in “Her”

AFCA 2013 Top Ten Films

1. “Her”
2. “12 Years a Slave”
3. “Gravity”
4. “The Wolf of Wall Street”
5. “Inside Llewyn Davis”
6. “Short Term 12”
7. “Mud”
8. “Before Midnight”
9. “Dallas Buyers Club”
10. “Captain Phillips”

Around The Web