ABC unveils its summer ‘Superstars’

04.21.09 8 years ago

David Duprey/AP

ABC has announced the eight star athletes and the eight semi-celebrities who will be competing on the summer reality series “The Superstars.”

“The Superstars” is the latest evolution of the classic “Wide World of Sports” series of the same name. On the show, eight world-class athletes (not necessarily all active) will be paired with eight celebrities (not necessarily all world-class *or* active) in a variety of different sporting events including swimming, biking and kayaking. ABC implies that the events will “determine the best athlete in the world.” 

[Note: Other athletes not participating in the show are under no obligation to acknowledge the show’s winner as The Best Athlete in the World.]

The six-episode series is being shot on location at the Atlantis Resort in the Bahamas.

It’s interesting how many of the athletes on ABC’s list obviously view the show as a way of readjusting their public images. In addition to mercurial wide receiver Terrell Owens, most recently waived by the Cowboys and signed -into-exile by the Buffalo Bills, the group includes possible future Hall-of-Fame second baseman (and serial clubhouse bickerer) Jeff Kent, Olympic skiing disappointment (and World Cup overall champion) Bode Miller and tennis star Jennifer Capriati, who have all battled sometime negative press in their past.

Also appearing on the athlete side are NBC sharpshooter Robert Horry, shirt-removing soccer star Brandi Chastain, WNBA superstar Lisa Leslie and X Games freeskier Kristi Leskinen.

As for the celebrities, check out these names: David Charvet, Maksim Chmerkovskiy, Dan Cortese, Paige Hemmis, Julio Iglesias, Jr., Joanna Krupa, Ali Landry and Estella Warren. That’s one “Dancing with the Stars” dancer, one “Extreme Makeover: Home Edition” builder, one “Surviving Suburbia” star, one guy engaged to a “Dancing with the Stars” winner and a couple people without direct ties to ABC.

The team pairings for “The Superstars” will be Terrell Owens & Joanna Krupa; Jeff Kent & Ali Landry; Robert Horry & Estella Warren: Bode Miller & Paige Hemmis; Kristi Leskinen & Maksim Chmerkovskiy; Lisa Leslie & Dan Cortese; Jennifer Capriati & David Charvet; and Brandi Chastain & Julio Iglesias, Jr.

“The Superstars” will premiere on ABC on Tuesday, June 23 at 8 p.m. ET.

Around The Web