‘Precious’ and ‘500 Days’ of Summer dominate 2010 Independent Spirit Award Nominees

12.01.09 8 years ago

Fox Searchlight

The 25th Annual Indiependnent Spirit Awards were announced today in Los Angeles.  The awards will be handed out at a ceremony at LA Live in downtown Los Angeles on Sat. March 5 at 8:00 PM PST, 11:00 PM EST on IFC.  The complete list of nominees are below. 

BEST FEATURE (Award given to the Producer, Executive Producers are not listed)

“(500) Days Of Summer”
Producers: Mason Novick, Jessica Tuchinsky, Mark Waters, Steven J. Wolfe

Producers: Paul Barkin, Christina Piovesan

Producers: Lee Daniels, Gary Magness, Sarah Siegel-Magness

“Sin Nombre”
Producer: Amy Kaufman

“The Last Station”
Producers: Bonnie Arnold, Chris Curling, Jens Meuer


Ethan Coen, Joel Coen, “A Serious Man”
Lee Daniels, “Precious”
Cary Joji Fukunaga, “Sin Nombre”
James Gray, “Two Lovers”
Michael Hoffman, “The Last Station”


Alessandro Camon, Oren Moverman, “The Messenger”
Michael Hoffman, “The Last Station”
Lee Toland Krieger, “The Vicious Kind”
Greg Mottola, “Adventureland”
Scott Neustadter, Michael H. Weber, “(500) Days Of Summer”

BEST FIRST FEATURE (Award given to the director and producer)

“A Single Man,” Director: Tom Ford
“Crazy Heart,”Director: Scott Cooper
Producers: T Bone Burnett, Judy Cairo, Rob Carliner, Scott Cooper, Robert Duvall
“Easier With Practice,” Director: Kyle Patrick Alvarez Producer: Cookie Carosella
“Paranormal Activity,” Director: Oren Peli, Producer: Jason Blum, Oren Peli
“The Messenger,” Director: Oren Moverman, Producers: Mark Gordon, Lawrence Inglee, Zach Miller


Sophie Barthes, “Cold Souls”
Scott Cooper, “Crazy Heart”
Cherien Dabis, “Amreeka”
Geoffrey Fletcher, “Precious”
Tom Ford, David Scearce, “A Single Man”

JOHN CASSAVETES AWARD – Given to the best feature made for under $500,000.  Award given to the writer, director, and producer.  Executive Producers are not listed

“Big Fan,” Writer/Director: Robert Siegel. Producers: Elan Bogarin, Jean Kouremetis
“Humpday,” Writer/Director/Producer: Lynn Shelton
“The New Year Parade,” Writer/Director: Tom Quinn, Producers: Steve Beal, Tom Quinn
“Treeless Mountain,” Writer/Director: So Yong Kim Producers: Bradley Rust Gray, Ben Howe, So Yong Kim, Lars Knudsen, Jay Van Hoy
“Zero Bridge,” Writer/Director: Tariq Tapa, Producers: Josée Lajoie, Hilal Ahmed Langoo, Tariq Tapa


Maria Bello, “Downloading Nancy”
Nisreen Faour, “Amreeka”
Helen Mirren, “The Last Station”
Gwyneth Paltrow, “Two Lovers”
Gabourey Sidibe, “Precious”


Jeff Bridges, “Crazy Heart”
Colin Firth, “A Single Man”
Joseph Gordon-Levitt, “(500) Days Of Summer”
Souléymane Sy Savané, “Goodbye Solo”
Adam Scott, “The Vicious Kind”


Dina Korzun, “Cold Souls”
Mo”Nique, “Precious”
Samantha Morton, “The Messenger”
Natalie Press, “Fifty Dead Men Walking”
Mia Wasikowska, “That Evening Sun”


Jemaine Clement, “Gentlemen Broncos”
Woody Harrelson, “The Messenger”
Christian McKay, “Me and Orson Welles”
Raymond McKinnon “That Evening Sun”
Christopher Plummer, “The Last Station”


Roger Deakins, “A Serious Man”
Adriano Goldman, “Sin Nombre”
Anne Misawa, “Treeless Mountain”
Andrij Parekh, “Cold Souls”
Peter Zeitlinger, “Bad Lieutenant: Port of Call New Orleans”

BEST DOCUMENTARY (Award given to the director)

“Anvil! The Story of Anvil,” Director: Sacha Gervasi
“Food, Inc.,” Director: Robert Kenner
“More Than A Game,” Director: Kristopher Belman
“October Country,” Directors: Donal Mosher, Michael Palmieri
“Which Way Home,” Director: Rebecca Cammisa

BEST FOREIGN FILM (Award given to the director)

“A Prophet”
Director: Jacques Audiard

“An Education”
Director: Lone Scherfig

“Everlasting Moments”
Director: Jan Troell

(South Korea)
Director: Bong Joon-Ho

“The Maid”
Director: Sebastián Silva

ACURA SOMEONE TO WATCH AWARD – The 16th annual Acura Someone to Watch Award recognizes a talented filmmaker of singular vision who has not yet received appropriate recognition.  The award includes a $25,000 unrestricted grant funded by Acura.

Kyle Patrick Alvarez, “Easier With Practice”
Asiel Norton, “Redland”
Tariq Tapa, “Zero Bridge”

TRUER THAN FICTION AWARD – The 15th annual Truer Than Fiction Award is presented to an emerging director of non-fiction features who has not yet received significant recognition.  The award includes a $25,000 unrestricted grant.

Natalia Almada, “El General”
Jessica Oreck, “Beetle Queen Conquers Tokyo”
Bill Ross, Turner Ross, “45365”

PIAGET PRODUCERS AWARD – The 13th annual Piaget Producers Award honors emerging producers who, despite highly limited resources demonstrate the creativity, tenacity, and vision required to produce quality, independent films.  The award includes a $25,000 unrestricted grant funded by Piaget.

Karin Chien, “The Exploding Girl, Santa Mesa”
Larry Fessenden, “I Sell the Dead, The House of the Devil”
Dia Sokol, “Beeswax, Nights & Weekends”

ROBERT ALTMAN AWARD – (Given to one film”s director, casting director, and its ensemble cast)

“A Serious Man”

Around The Web