Demi Lovato makes it four No. 1s for Disney on The Billboard 200

07.29.09 8 years ago

Hollywood Records/Sheryl Nields

Demi Lovato becomes Disney Music Group’s fourth chart-topper on The Billboard 200 this year as “Here We Go Again” bows with 107,000 copies. She joins the ranks of the Jonas Brothers, Rascal Flatts and the “Hannah Montana: The Movie” soundtrack, and bests her debut, “Don’t Forget,” which reached No. 2 last year.

Daughtry’s “Leave This Town” slips 1-2 (100,000, -63%), Maxwell’s “BLACKsummers’night” falls 2-3 (72,000 -31%) and the “Now 31” hits compilation stays put at No. 4 (57,000, -18%). The ever-fictional Hannah Montana and her third TV soundtrack descends 3-5 (53,000, -27%) as Black Eyed Peas’ “The E.N.D.” moves 5-6 (52,000, -5%).

Jordin Sparks, season six winner of “American Idol” and Grammy nominee, only manages a No. 7 entry of sophomore set “Battlefield” with 48,000 copies.  Depressingly, her 2007 self-titled debut started at No. 10, but with more than twice as many sales at 119,000.

Using any excuse we can to type the phrase “Sex On Fire,” Kings of Leon’s “Only By The Night” (which boasts the aforementioned single) climbs 10-8 (39,000, +19%). Taylor Swift’s “Fearless” keeps the No. 9 spot warm (37,000, flat sales) while Lady GaGa’s “The Fame” re-enters the top 10, ascending 11-10 (27,000, -10%).

Sales for July 20-26 were down 8.5% compared to the previous week’s sales, and are down 20.8% compared to the same week last year. Sales totals this year are down 14.1% compared to last year.

1. Demi Lovato “Here We Go Again”
2. Daughtry “Leave This Town”
3. Maxwell “BLACKsummers’night”
4. Various “Now 31”
5. Hannah Montana “Hannah Montana 3”
6. Black Eyed Peas “The E.N.D.”
7. Jordin Sparks “Battlefield”
8. Kings Of Leon “Only By The Night”
9. Taylor Swift “Fearless”
10. Lady GaGa “The Fame”

Around The Web