Miley Cyrus disqualified for movie Grammy, Karen O moves in

12.10.09 8 years ago

AP Photo

A week after Grammy nominations were announced, Miley Cyrus and her songwriting team have been disqualified in their nod for Best Song Written for Motion Picture,Television or Other Visual Media — with Yeah Yeah Yeahs’ Karen O taking it’s place.

Cyrus’ ballad “The Climb” was featured in “Hannah Montan: The Movie,” but for reasons unknown at this time, has been taken out of the running. Karen O and the Kids’ “All Is Love,” written by the frontlady for the Spike Jonze flick “Where the Wild Things Are,” has replaced it, according to Jonze’s WTWTA site We Love You So.

Disney has yet to reply with comment on the switcheroo — from performers that are near-antonyms — but a press release is expected soon. has already updated its website and nomination list. “All Is Love” is up against the tracks below, including performances from Bruce Springsteen and Beyonce.

One stipulation in this Grammy category is that the song had to be penned specifically for the movie or show (or other visual medium), which is one possibility as to why the track could have been yanked in retrospect.

This is not the first time that the Yeah Yeah Yeahs or Karen O to receive a Grammy nomination, but it would be her first win should she take the prize.

Check this space as this story develops.

Category 83

Best Song Written For Motion Picture, Television Or Other Visual Media
(A Songwriter(s) award. For a song (melody & lyrics) written specifically for a motion picture, television or other visual media, and released for the first time during the Eligibility Year. (Artist names appear in parentheses.) Singles or Tracks only.)

    * All Is Love (From Where The Wild Things Are)
      Karen O. & Nick Zinner, songwriters (Karen O. & The Kids)
      [DGC Records/Interscope; Publishers: Warner Barham Music/Chrysalis Songs]

    * Decode (From Twilight)
      Josh Farro, Hayley Williams & Taylor York, songwriters (Paramore)
      [Summit Ent./Chop Shop/Atlantic; Publishers: WB Music Corp/But Father, I Just Want To Sing Music/Josh’s Music/FBR Music, Meaux Hits/Hunterboro Music, Rimutaka Music.]

    * Jai Ho (From Slumdog Millionaire)
      Gulzar, A.R. Rahman & Tanvi Shah, songwriters (A.R. Rahman, Sukhvinder Singh, Tanvi Shah, Mahalaxmi Iyer & Vijay Prakash)
      [N.E.E.T./Interscope Records; Publisher: KM Musiq.]

    * Once In A Lifetime (From Cadillac Records)
      Ian Dench, James Dring, Amanda Ghost, Beyoncé Knowles, Scott McFarnon & Jody Street, songwriters (Beyoncé)
      [Music World Music/Columbia; Publishers: B-Day Publishing/EMI April Music, Amanda Ghost Bucks Music Group Ltd./EMI Blackwood, Red Ink Music Ltd., Ian Dench Music/Songs of Kobalt Music, Chrysalis Music.]

    * The Wrestler (From The Wrestler)
      Bruce Springsteen, songwriter (Bruce Springsteen)
      [Columbia; Publisher: Bruce Springsteen.]

Around The Web