Smashing Pumpkins offer loads of free tracks

09.17.09 8 years ago 3 Comments

Following in the footsteps of Radiohead and Nine Inch Nails, the Smashing Pumpkins  (i.e. Billy Corgan and whomever he’s recruited to record with him) will offer their next album, “Teargarden by Kaleidyscope” for free. All 44 songs.

The 44 songs, based upon The Tarot’s  “The Fool’s Journey,” will be released one at a time starting around Halloween.  Ultimately the songs will be sold as 11 EPs of four songs each and as a deluxe box set with enhanced artwork and bonus tracks.

“The commitment that is most important is the one I’m making to you–that the music of ‘Teargarden by Kaleidyscope’ will be available for free to everyone. All 44 songs: free for all,”  said Corgan on the band’s website.

He had more to say: Each song will be made available absolutely for free, to anyone anywhere. There will be no strings attached. Free will mean free, which means you won’t have to sign up for anything, give an email address, or jump through a hoop. You will be able to go and take the song or songs as you wish, as many times as you wish.”

Around The Web