‘Star Trek’ stars Chris Pine and Zoe Saldana to host Academy’s sci-tech awards

01.16.13 5 years ago 2 Comments

Before they “Star Trek Into Darkness,” U.S.S. Enterprise crew members Chris Pine and Zoe Saldana are reuniting to host the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences” Scientific and Technical Awards in February.

The duo will present nine awards to 25 recipients during the event on Saturday, February 9 at The Beverly Hills Hotel.

“We are thrilled to have Chris and Zoe host the Sci-Tech Awards,” said Academy President Hawk Koch in a press release.  “Their film experience with the kind of technical advancements these awards honor makes them the perfect pair for the job.”

Pine starred in J.J. Abrams in 2009’s “Star Trek” and will reprise his role as James T. Kirk in the highly-anticipated sequel, “Star Trek Into Darkness.”

He will also play the title role in “Jack Ryan,” based on the character created by Tom Clancy. Keira Knightley and Kevin Costner also star.

Saldana played Uhura in “Star Trek,” and will also reprise her role in the sequel.

The “Avatar” star will soon be seen in “Blood Ties,” which co-stars Mila Kunis and Marion Cotillard.

“Star Trek Into Darkness” opens May 17.

Around The Web