Thom Yorke, Michael Stipe, The National record for Mulcahy tribute

06.25.09 9 years ago


Radiohead’s Thom Yorke, R.E.M.’s Michael Stipe, ex-Pixies’ Frank Black, The National, Dinosaur Jr. and nearly two dozen other artists have contributed exclusive recordings to tribute album “Ciao My Shining Star: The Songs of Mark Mulcahy.”

The 21-song set will be released via Shout! Factory on Sept. 29, with proceeds to directly aid songwriter Mulcahy, who has been raising his twin daughters by himself since his wife Melissa died in September 2008.

Other talents include Vic Chesnutt, Mercury Rev, Josh Rouse, Frank Turner, Ben Kweller, Juliana Hatfield,

Artists like A.C. Newman, Laura Viers and Buffalo Tom also lent a hand to a bonus set of “Ciao” covers, available digital-only.

Mulcahy is the former frontman of Miracle Legion and started the band Polaris, which was better known as the house for TV series “The Adventures of Pete & Pete” from 1993-1996. His latest album is 2005’s “In Pursuit Of Your Happiness.”

The tribute album’s namesake is currently being streamed on Mulcahy’s MySpace site.

Here is the tracklist for ‘Ciao My Shining Star: The Songs Of Mark Mulcahy”:

Thom Yorke – All For The Best
The National – Ashamed Of The Story I Told
Michael Stipe – Everything’s Coming Undone
David Berkeley – Loves The Only Thing That Shuts Me Up
Dinosaur Jr. – The Backyard
Chris Harford & Mr Ray Neal – Micon The Icon
Frank Black – Bill Jocko
Vic Chesnutt – Little Man
Unbelievable Truth – Ciao My Shining Star
Butterflies Of Love – I Have Patience
Chris Collingwood (Fountains Of Wayne) – Cookie Jar
Frank Turner – The Quiet One
Rocket From The Tombs – In Pursuit Of Your Happiness
Ben Kweller – Wake Up Whispering
Josh Rouse – I Woke Up In The Mayflower
Autumn Defense – Paradise
Hayden – Happy Birthday Yesterday
Juliana Hatfield – We’re Not In Charleston Anymore
Mercury Rev – Sailors And Animals
Elvis Perkins – She Watches Over Me (Son Of Actor Anthony Perkins)
Sean Watkins – A World Away From This One

Around The Web