Watch: Jay-Z, Rihanna and Kanye in ‘Run This Town’ music video

08.20.09 8 years ago

Jay-Z enlists Rihanna and Kanye West to help him run his underground dominion in the new music video for “Run This Town,” a settlement in which Rihanna gets four fabulous costume changes.

In all-black garb, with headscarves, scrappy weapons and plenty of fire, the hordes seem pissed about an unspecified something, but on the military beat goes, a mad hot white heat beat at that. Perhaps an anti-auto-tune protest?

Nothing is terribly challenging about this jam: Rihanna’s lines are pretty simple, the tempo’s loping enough for Ye’s meandering rhymes and Jay-Z’s got plenty of room to just be Jay-Z. It feels a bit long, and Kanye looks madder in the video than his lyrics actually insinuate. Regardless, I love seeing pretty people rock dirt like it was Estee Lauder.

“Run This Town” is the second single from Jay-Z’s “Blueprint 3” album, due Sept. 11, produced by West. The first single “D.O.A. (Death of Auto-Tune” was one of our top 25 summer jams,

The new tracklist is below, with the guest-fest included. Alicia Keyes and Young Jeezy join the previously announced talents of Kanye protegee Mr Hudson, Kid Cudy and Drake.

1. “What We Talkin’ About” (featuring Luke Steele of Empire of the Sun)
2. “Thank You”
3. “D.O.A. (Death of Auto-Tune)”
4. “Run This Town” (featuring Kanye West and Rihanna)
5. “Empire State of Mind” (featuring Alicia Keys)
6. “Real As it Gets” (featuring Young Jeezy)
7. “On to the Next One” (featuring Swizz Beatz)
8. “Off That” (featuring Drake)
9. “A Star is Born” (featuring J. Cole)
10. “Venus vs. Mars”
11. “Already Home” (featuring Kid Cudi)
12. “Hate” (featuring Kanye West)
13. “Reminder”
14. “So Ambitious” (featuring Pharrell)
15. “Young Forever” (featuring Mr Hudson)

Around The Web