Zooey Deschanel, M. Ward returning as She & Him

12.08.09 8 years ago

Just because Zooey Deschanel and M. Ward had a busy year doesn’t mean they didn’t make time to work together again as She & Him. The acoustic-pop pairing has prepped a follow-up to last year’s “Volume One,” aptly named “Volume Two,” due March 23.

The album will once again combine the actress/singer’s vocals and songwriting with M. Ward’s talents for arrangements and production. It contains 11 originals and two covers, NRBQ’s “Ridin” In My Car” and Skeeter Davis” “Gonna Get Along Without You.” Deschanel describes it as a “feel-good album,” which wouldn’t be too far off from “Volume One.”

She & Him also crafted a cover of The Smiths’ “Please, Please, Please Let Me Get What I Want” for the soundtrack to “(500) Days of Summer,” which featured Deschanel as the romantic lead opposite of Joseph Gordon-Levitt.

This year, M. Ward was touring and recording with side project Monsters of Folk, which also boasts Jim James of My Morning Jacket and Conor Oberst and Mike Mogis of Bright Eyes. He also released his fourth Merge Records effort “Hold Time.”

Deschanel, meanwhile, was promoting “(500) Days” and finishing lensing for 2010 film “Your Highness.”

Here is the tracklist for “Volume Two”:

1. Thieves
2. In The Sun
3. Don”t Look Back
4. Ridin” In My Car
5. Lingering Still
6. Me And You
7. Gonna Get Along Without You
8. Home
9.  I”m Gonna Make It Better
10. Sing
11. Over It Over Again
12. Brand New Shoes
13. If You Can”t Sleep

Around The Web