Sixteen Years After That Grisly Lawsuit, Metallica Is Back On Napster

11.16.16 3 weeks ago 5 Comments

AP Photo

Just in time for Hardwired… To Self-Destruct, Metallica’s first new album since 2008’s Death Magnetic, the band’s music has reappeared on Napster, one of the first peer-to-peer (P2P) file-sharing services that gained notoriety in the late nineties, and early 2000s. The band famously sued Napster in 2000, and had all of their music removed from the service after a grisly court battle that received national attention. It appears that time truly does heal all wounds though, as almost two decades later, Napster has returned as a legitimate streaming platform, and Metallica’s music is readily available to stream.

In other news, Metallica will hit the intimate London House Of Vans on Friday to celebrate the release of the new album. UK fans will have a once-in-a-lifetime chance to see the iconic thrashers in a truly intimate setting before they embark on their full-on tour in support of the new record. Those not in the UK are in luck, as the concert will stream live on the House Of Vans website at 9PM GMT, 4PM EDT, 1PM PDT on Friday.

Hardwired… To Self-Destruct is out Friday, November 18th on the band’s own Blackened Recordings and spans two discs with a total runtime of almost 80 minutes.

Around The Web