‘Avengers: Age Of Ultron’ Will Feature Two Mutants…Sort Of

11.25.13 4 years ago 8 Comments


Words By Dr Hip-Hop

If you’re reading this, you’ve seen The Avengers (like most of the modern world) and you’re probably very hype for the 2015 follow-up, Avengers: Age of Ultron. Well, after months of rampant rumors, Marvel Studios has officially cast Aaron Taylor-Johnson (Kick-Ass, Kick-Ass 2) and Elizabeth Olsen (Martha Marcy May Marlene, Oldboy) as the mutant twins Quicksilver and the Scarlet Witch, respectively, for the sequel to the 2012 super successful superhero flick.

The two characters, the children of the master of magnetism, Magneto, debuted in Uncanny X-Men #4 in the 1964 and were of their father’s anti-X-Men, the Brotherhood of Evil Mutants. That changed in 1965 with Avengers #16, where the two siblings joined Captain America and other new recruit, Hawkeye, to become “Cap’s Quirky Quartet” and they primarily stayed in that wheelhouse for almost 50 years.

This history makes them a unique property for Marvel Studios, because 20th Century Fox has the rights to the X-Men franchise and that means they can use the characters as well. And they plan to do so with 2014’s X-Men: Days of Future Past film, with Evan Peters cast as the speedster.

The actors, Johnson and Olsen, are set to star together in the 2014 Godzilla remake first. It’s unknown what their roles will entail in the Marvel franchise. Since Fox has the rights to the concept of mutants (as well as Magneto), it’s all fan speculation concerning what and how their superpowers will be explained. All I care is that we get more awesomeness added to the most anticipated film of 2015.

Previously: James Spader Cast As The Villain In ‘Avengers: Age Of Ultron’

Image: Marvel Comics

Around The Web