Download Donnie Trumpet, Chance The Rapper And The Social Experiment’s ‘Surf’ Album Now

05.28.15 2 years ago 20 Comments
The Social Experiment SURF cover


Donnie Trumpet, Chance The Rapper and The Social Experiment’s new album, Surf, is finally here after much anticipation. The project arrives a little over two years since Chance originally released Acid Rap and it’s only right that he brings along his musical friends who’ve traveled the journey with him.

One of the main characteristics that made Acid Rap and Chance stand out was how it worked in a myriad of styles, from Chance’s ability to alternate between hectic flows and easygoing singing to the backdrops used – traditional rap mixed with bits of jazz, juke and more. To that, credit is owed for the unsung contributions of his band, The Social Experiment, composed of Chance, Donnie Trumpet, Peter Cottontale, Greg Landfair Jr. and Nate Fox. Much of what we heard was their hands helping to shape Acid Rap‘s sound.

Now, it’s their turn to shine, particularly Trumpet, who takes the lead in curating Surf. In an interview with Fader, the trumpet player explained that the project was his music and “their influence and ideas, plus us all coming up with crazy shit to do. But at the end of the day, it’s my directing.”

Chance echoed Trumpet’s statements in a separate interview by saying “It’s a big step for all of us all putting our heads together and letting Nico [Segal, a.k.a Donnie Trumpet] hold the reigns and carry it.”

Prior to Surf‘s release, we heard “Sunday Candy” and other loose tracks – like “Lady Friend,” “No Better Blues,” and “Everyday Wonderful” – that didn’t make the cut but still managed to show how diverse their material could be. Now, the full LP arrives for everyone to listen to and learn as this group of friends continues to create their own path together.

Surf is up for a completely free download on iTunes.

Surf Tracklist:

1. “Miracle”
2. “Slip Slide” (Feat. B.o.B, BJ the Chicago Kid, Busta Rhymes & Janelle Monáe)
3. “Warm Enough” (Feat. J. Cole)
4. “Nothing Came to Me”
5. “Wanna Be Cool” (Feat. Jeremih & Big Sean)
6. “Windows” (Feat. BJ The Chicago Kid & Raury)
7. “Caretaker” (Feat. D.R.A.M.)
8. “Just Wait”
9. “Familiar” (Feat. Quavo of Migos & King Louie)
10. “SmthnthtIwnt”
11. “Go” (Feat. Jesse Boykins III)
12. “Questions”
13. “Something Came to Me”
14. “Rememory” (Feat. Erykah Badu)
15. “Sunday Candy”
16. “Pass the Vibes”

(Tracklist via Miss Info)

Around The Web