Freddie Gibbs – “The Wrong One”

11.16.09 8 years ago 38 Comments

New music from Freddie Gibbs in the form of “The Wrong One,” produced by Buckwild and a beat also used for Beanie’s “The Ghetto.” But you already know Gibbs’ version is solely his, as he recounts an autobiographical tale. Based on reality, the events depicted in the track resulted in our Midwest Malcolm being left with a scar above his left eye.


Download — Freddie Gibbs – “The Wrong One” (Prod. by Buckwild)

But that’s only part of why we’re here today. We’ve leaked a track or two from The Labels Tryin To Kill Me! The Best Of Freddie Gibbs, but the best is really yet to come. First off, there’s the cover art…

The title and cover together can be read multiple ways; I’ll leave that up to the creative minds. Make no mistake that both are a reference to Percy’s 1994 release (more specifically, the limited edition ’97 reissue is where the cover draws its blurry likeness).

But that title, it says so much about Freddie’s journey and the music found on The Labels…. Stories and styles influenced by Gary, Indiana, California and several other spots in between. From time spent growing up in a city forgotten by most, left for dead, dead in the middle of the U.S. There’s the up’s and down’s. The before, during and the still fruitful after of the time spent on a major label. There’s Freddie, spitting in double-time or slowed, sativa-induced flow. If there’s one consistent that you’ll see on The Labels…, it’s that the self-proclaimed Midwest Malcolm delivers each rhyme with a level of passion that implies that his life depends on that verse.

With nearly two hours of music, the mixtape is composed of tracks dating from circa 2004 to about a month and a half ago (“Bring Me Down” for Mike Posner). The production comes from the likes of the aforementioned Buckwild, J.R. Rotem, Kno, Red Spyda, Cook Classics, Just Blaze, Alchemist, Kanye West, Finger Roll, Havoc, 9th Wonder, Polow Da Don, Three 6 Mafia, Speakerbomb, Cool and Dre, Emile, The Knux, Akon, DJ Toomp, Block Beataz, Mr. Lee and Josh The Goon. There’s old, unreleased recordings, forgotten music, current tracks, and even snippets of future releases.And it’s all collected, compiled and together in one tape in the best quality audio available.

Hosted by DJ Skee and TSS, Freddie Gibbs’ The Labels Tryin To Kill: The Best Of Freddie Gibbs arrives on December 1st.

1. Things Can Only Get Better
2. Nigga Machine
3. Empire Strikes Back
4. Never Forget Me
5. Stay High
6. In My Hood
7. Young’n On His Grind
8. I’m That Nigga
9. Big Biz 3
10. The Game
11. Thug Psalms
12. Rock Boys
13. I’m The Man
14. Murdergame
15. Fresh
16. 4 Da Streets
17. About To Be A Murder
18. The Wrong One
19. Pearly Gates
20. We Does This
21. It’s a Robbery
22. Bring Me Down
23. Imperial
24. Fuck Rap
25. How I Feel
26. Iodine Poison
27. Midwest Malcolm
28. G.I. Pride
29. Come Around My Way
30. Just Tryin’ Ta Make It
31. Neverending Cycle
32. Product Of The Hood
33. Freddie’s Dead
34. Block Muzik
35. Run Up To Me
36. Womb 2 The Tomb
37. F.R.E.D.D.I.E.
38. Murda On My Mind
39. Games U Playin’
40. On The Creep
41. In The Projects
42. For My Niggas
43. Fuck What Ya Heard
44. Hoes Betta Recognize
45. Fear No Evil
46. Nigga I’m Back
47. Boxframe Cadillac
48. What It Be Like
49. Goodies
50. The True
51. Let It Go
52. Midwest Muzik
53. Still Standing
54. Scary Gary
55. Bussashot
56. Gangsta
57. Hard Times
58. Life In The Fastlane
59. Flamboyant
60. Fuck Rap pt. 2
61. County Bounce
62. Another Day (In My Hood)
63. G.I. Swangin’
64. From Tha G
65. Straight Ballin’
66. Hold Me Back
67. Close Your Eyes
68. Smoke Away The Pain
69. Steel City Stick Up Kid
70. Can’t Stop Me
71. Clean Than A Muthafucka
72. Summa Dis
73. Breakin’ Necks
74. Talkin’ Bout You
75. Deez Hoes
76. Playa
77. Sumthin’ U Should Know
78. Stray
79. Dick In The Morning
80. Bussdown
81. How We Do (’93 Til…)

Around The Web