Jay-Z Announced As A Headliner At Bonnaroo

02.09.10 8 years ago 37 Comments

Seeing that Jay-Z was just announced as a top performer on Bonnaroo’s MySpace (remember that site?), I couldn’t help but wonder, who’s selling out more in this arrangement? The hippie jam band fest in cohorts with the Hip-Hop’s icon of individual capitalistic gain? Or the self-proclaimed street hustler taking to the stage about as far from the Marcy Projects as anywhere this side of the moon.

I’d say the music festival. Jay-Z’s never fronted his reasoning for entering the game, and if that means playing “On to the Next One,” in 100° heat for 100,000 smelly, sunburned 20-year-olds wondering when Widespread Panic goes on, so be it. As for the organizers, I understand their efforts to gain mass appeal, but they’re probably turning off more people than they’re going to bring in. Remember how well Kanye went over?

Of course, as with any respectable corporate kingpin, Young Hov is a true professional. I fully expect him to give the people what they want with a solid, if not particularly memorable performance. I still won’t be making the trip down there though.

Because as far as music fests go, it’s all about SXSW these days anyways.

Bonnaroo 2010 Lineup Includes Jay-Z, Weezer, Flaming Lips [MTV]

UPDATE— The full list of confirmed performers has been updated, courtesy of www.bonnaroo.com.

Dave Matthews Band
Kings of Leon
Stevie Wonder
Tenacious D
The Flaming Lips with Stardeath and White Dwarfs perform “Dark Side of the Moon”
The Dead Weather
Damian Marley & Nas
Norah Jones
Michael Franti & Spearhead
John Fogerty
Regina Spektor
Jimmy Cliff
LCD Soundsystem
The Avett Brothers
Thievery Corporation
Rise Against
Tori Amos
The National
Zac Brown Band
Les Claypool
John Prine
The Black Keys
Steve Martin & the Steep Canyon Rangers
Jeff Beck
Dropkick Murphys
She & Him
Against Me!
The Disco Biscuits
Daryl Hall & Chromeo
Jamey Johnson
Kid Cudi
Baaba Maal
Kris Kristofferson
Medeski Martin & Wood
The xx
Dan Deacon Ensemble
The Melvins
Gaslight Anthem
Miike Snow
Nitty Gritty Dirt Band
Dr. Dog
They Might Be Giants
Punch Brothers
Blitzen Trapper
Blues Traveler
Miranda Lambert
Trombone Shorty & Orleans Avenue
Martin Sexton
Dave Rawlings Machine
Mayer Hawthorne and the County
Jay Electronica
Edward Sharpe & the Magnetic Zeros
Ingrid Michaelson
The Dodos
Manchester Orchestra
The Temper Trap
Cross Canadian Ragweed
Big Sam’s Funky Nation
Carolina Chocolate Drops
Tokyo Police Club
The Entrance Band
Local Natives
Brandi Carlile
Mumford & Sons
Diane Birch
Monte Montgomery
Julia Nunes
The Postelles
Here We Go Magic
Hot Rize
Neon Indian

Around The Web