Meet Your 2010 NASCAR Sprint Cup Champion

11.22.10 7 years ago 8 Comments

Actually, make that meet your five-time NASCAR Sprint Cup Champion, Jimmie Johnson.

Jimmie Johnson wasn’t the best all year. Not even close.

When it mattered, though, he couldn’t be beat. For the fifth consecutive year.

Denny Hamlin and Kevin Harvick took the champion all the way to the edge this season, waging the most serious threats yet to Johnson’s reign atop NASCAR. Only the outcome didn’t change, and Johnson maintained his ironclad hold on the Sprint Cup. [ESPN]

I’m not even remotely a NASCAR fan, but you have to give credit where credit is due and winning a championship five years running is pretty impressive. Going bigger picture for a second, I’m also hoping that this will serve as a notice to rappers who still enjoy using Jeff Gordon as their token NASCAR reference. Even with my limited knowledge of the sport activity, it’s pretty obvious the rainbow warrior isn’t king of the hill. Which means it may take a few extra minutes when penning a verse, since you won’t be rhyming Gordon with Jordan as much, but we have faith in you.

Jimmie Johnson Wins 5th Straight Title [ESPN]

Around The Web