Johnny Manziel Runs Away With Heisman Trophy

12.09.12 5 years ago 4 Comments

Texas A&M star Johnny Manziel joined the likes of Robert Griffin III, Archie Griffin and Charles Woodson in one of the sporting world’s most hallowed fraternities Saturday night: Heisman Trophy winners. The news comes at the expense of Notre Dame linebacker Manti Te’o and Colin Klein, who finished second and third in voting respectively.

History was made with the voters’ decision; never before has a freshman won the award (and also was the first freshman to win the Davey O’Brien Award). But when you look at his eye popping stats – 43 total touchdowns and an SEC record 4,600 yards from scrimmage – this was the right decision. And, as a freshman with another three years of eligibility, the story of Johnny Football Heisman at A&M still has several chapters to go.

Around The Web