Guilt-Free Listening: Trey Songz’s ‘Trigga’

06.25.14 4 years ago 9 Comments

Maybe I knew and just wasn’t paying attention, but for everyone who has apparently been living under a rock alongside yours truly, Trey Songz’s new album, Trigga, hits shelves July 1. As in seven days from now.

Instead of allowing the Internet to spoil his party, Trey took to MTV to stream his sixth studio album free of charge.

1. Cake
2. Foreign
3. Na Na
4. Touchin, Lovin feat. Nicki Minaj
5. Disrepectful feat. Mila J
6. Dead Wrong feat. Ty Dolla $ign
7. All We Do
8. Foreign (Remix) feat. Justin Bieber
9. Late Night feat. Juicy J
10. SmartPhones
11. Yes, No, Maybe
12. Y.A.S
13. Change Your Mind
14. What’s Best for You
15. Love Around the World
16. I Know (Can’t Get Back)
17. Mr. Steal Your Girl

Normally when an artist claims an album is their “most personal to date,” like Trey proclaimed about Trigga, the result is mostly hot air. Consider it the exact opposite here as the project proves to be a refreshing listen, albeit sporting a darker, more melodic ambiance with themes of sex, infidelity and relationships centered around all the wrong foundations as its primary sources of inspiration. Trigga, for those who care, is lightyears superior than his previous effort, 2012’s Chapter V.

Pre-order the album on iTunes.

Around The Web