not Photoshopped” title=”Sadly, the image is not Photoshopped” class=”alignright size-full wp-image-41″ />
Nikolay Davydenko, the fourth-seeded tennis player in the world under investigation in a betting scandal, has been fined for his lack of effort in a recent loss.
The top-seeded Davydenko won the first set in 27 minutes, but drew a rebuke from chair umpire Jean-Philippe Dercq in the third set. Davydenko double-faulted four times in the second set and six times in the third. "When I made a double-fault, he gave me a notice for a wrong behavior on the court as if I was throwing the match," Davydenko said Thursday after the match. "I was surprised. I've never heard anything like this before."
He'd never heard of someone throwing a match? The Russian tennis player is shocked by the notion of corruption for monetary gain?
"I was simply shocked to hear him say that. This is just outrageous. How does he know what I was trying to do? I was so upset with the whole thing I started crying."
…Something I would have never expected from someone who competes in an argyle sweater vest. The sports world is just full of surprises.
I want more like this!
Follow us on Facebook and get the latest before everyone else.