When I was a younger man, a man much older and wiser (maybe) once explained to me why I should never even consider stepping foot in the state of Tennessee. What he said went something like this: “You see son, in Tennessee the women are so ugly that you need to put two bags over their heads if you have sex with them, just in case the first one breaks. That’s called a ‘Tennessee Two-Bagger.'”
Now, since that time, I’ve gotten to know some pretty fine folks from Tennessee. I might have even had made love to a couple of women from there, women so attractive that I never felt even the slightest urge to incorporate paper bags into our lovemaking! And I love Nashville! It’s one of my favorite cities in the U.S., in fact, a place I’ve even found myself thinking, “You know, I could actually see myself living here.” Sure, I love giving the state and its people some sh*t, especially during football season, but it’s all in good fun.
But this may be the dealbreaker: It’s now a crime to share your Netflix and Rhapsody log-ins with someone else.
Reports the LA Times:
State lawmakers in the capital of country music have passed a groundbreaking measure that would make it a crime to use a friend’s log-in — even with permission — to listen to songs or watch movies from services such as Netflix or Rhapsody.
The bill, now awaiting the governor’s signature, was pushed by recording industry officials to try to stop the loss of billions of dollars to illegal music sharing. They hope other states will follow … Under the measure, download services that believe they are getting ripped off can go to law enforcement authorities and press charges.
The bill expands an existing law used to prosecute people who steal cable television or leave restaurants without paying for their meals. It adds “entertainment subscription service” to the list of services protected by the law … Tennessee would become the first state to update its theft-of-cable laws for the 21st century and address the trend toward Internet delivery of entertainment, according to the Recording Industry Assn. of America … Stealing $500 or less of entertainment would be a misdemeanor punishable by up to a year in jail and a fine of $2,500. Theft with a higher price tag would be a felony, with heavier penalties.
We emailed the state’s official spokesperson cat for more information on why Tennessee was enacting such a draconian statute, and this is the statement we received in response…
I want more like this!
Follow us on Facebook and get the latest before everyone else.