2012 AP All-Pro Team Announced; Purple Jesus and JJ Watt Unanimous 1st Team Picks

01.12.13 5 years ago 24 Comments

The Associated Press announced their 2012 All-Pro Team this morning with running back Adrian Peterson and defensive end J.J. Watt both receiving one hundred percent of the vote. Unlike the Pro Bowl popularity contest which is decided by the players, coaches and the fans, the All-Pro team is voted on by a panel of 50 AP sports writers who obviously sit in ivory towers above the clouds and the smog, immune to player politics. How else would you explain the 49 votes for Calvin Johnson and the single votes oddball for Wes Welker and Julio Jones, or the single tally for for “Brian Anger” of Jacksonville and not Bryan Anger of Jacksonville? (You may remember Anger was the Jags 2012 3rd round draft pick, so maybe the Onion was correct and he will kick Jacksonville to greatness.)

19 of the 27 All-Pro first team members are still playing in the playoffs, which isn’t too far off the Pro Bowl starting selection playing numbers. San Francisco’s defense dominated the voting, which rather impressively saw Justin Smith selected at two different positions.

No glaring snubs in my book, although Jamaal Charles receiving a four more votes than Arian Foster surprised me. Feel free to check out the complete vote tally and tell me how I am wrong in the comments.

First Team Offense

Quarterback – Peyton Manning, Denver.
Running Backs- Adrian Peterson, Minnesota; Marshawn Lynch, Seattle.
Fullback – Vonta Leach, Baltimore.
Tight End – Tony Gonzalez, Atlanta.
Wide Receivers – Calvin Johnson, Detroit; Brandon Marshall, Chicago.
Tackles – Duane Brown, Houston; Ryan Clady, Denver.
Guards – Mike Iupati, San Francisco; Jahri Evans, New Orleans.
Center – Max Unger, Seattle.
Placekicker – Blair Walsh, Minnesota.
Kick Returner – Jacoby Jones, Baltimore.

First Team Defense

Ends – J.J. Watt, Houston; Cameron Wake, Miami.
Tackles- Geno Atkins, Cincinnati; Vince Wilfork, New England.
Outside Linebackers – Von Miller, Denver; Aldon Smith, San Francisco.
Inside Linebacker – Patrick Willis, San Francisco; NaVorro Bowman, San Francisco.
Cornerbacks – Richard Sherman, Seattle; Charles Tillman, Chicago.
Safeties – Earl Thomas, Seattle; Dashon Goldson, San Francisco.
Punter – Andy Lee, San Francisco.

Second Team Offense

Quarterback – Aaron Rodgers, Green Bay.
Running Backs – Alfred Morris Washington; Jamaal Charles, Kansas City.
Fullback – Jerome Felton, Minnesota.
Tight End – Jason Witten, Dallas.
Wide Receivers- A.J. Green, Cincinnati; Andre Johnson, Houston.
Tackles – Joe Thomas, Cleveland; Joe Staley, San Francisco.
Guards- Marshal Yanda, Baltimore; Logan Mankins, New England.
Center – Maurkice Pouncey, Pittsburgh.
Placekicker – Phil Dawson, Cleveland.
Kick Returner – David Wilson, New York Giants.

Second Team Defense

Ends – Justin Smith, San Francisco; Julius Peppers, Chicago.
Tackles – Justin Smith, San Francisco; Ndamukong Suh, Detroit, and Haloti Ngata, Baltimore.
Outside Linebackers – Chad Greenway, Minnesota; Ahmad Brooks, San Francisco, Clay Matthews, Green Bay, and DeMarcus Ware, Dallas.
Inside Linebackers – Daryl Washington, Arizona; London Fletcher, Washington.
Cornerbacks – Champ Bailey, Denver; Tim Jennings, Chicago.
Safeties – Eric Weddle, San Diego; Jairus Byrd, Buffalo.
Punter – Thomas Morstead, New Orleans.

Around The Web