Christmas With Def Jam 2010

11.19.10 7 years ago 16 Comments

Without the proper buzz window and overdriven promotion, releasing an album in these dire times could be a wasted effort. Good thing the folks over at Def Jam have a bulletproof blueprint that no penny pincher can shoot down. By deviously planting unforeseen albums in stores during the holiday hustle-n-bustle, they’re bound to scan a few discs just of the principality. Let’s envision the scenario:

Example A is 36-year-old male who runs into Best Buy to pay off last few dollars for the plasma TV his wife always wanted. Due to panic-stricken customers and the stressed teenagers forced to endure the breath of hell over nitpicky details like mislabled DVD box sets, Example A is going to be in line for a while. As he people watches to prevent succumbing to a ghastly boredom demise, he notices the new album from Ghostface Killah, Apollo Kids. Sure he enjoyed the sounds of Ironman during his college heyday, but that was years ago and as far as he’s concerned, MP3 is a company who sends him bills every month. Now that he’s briefly trailed off into a memory lane with the smell of blunt fog clouding the room as “Camay” plays softly in the background, he decides to tempt fate and see if GFK can bring his life a bit of nostalgia once again. And just like that, one unit has been shipped and sold.

That’s how it goes, right?

Hellllll. To. The. Nah. You fuddy duddies don’t buy CDs no more. But here’s your Def Jam Christmas bundle of joy for 2K10 in case you get your mind right.

Artist: Ghostface Killah
New Album: Apollo Kids
Last Album:
The Wizard Of Poetry: In Emerald City (2009)
Synopsis: Ghostdini rhymes get packaged up in the waning days of the year to save Hip-Hop yet again!!!

It seems like a GFK album is a hot commodity come Christmas time, seeing that his last four LPs have been released in the 4th quarter of the fiscal year. Keep the trend ongoing by snagging your Theodore a copy on 12.14.10.

1. Purified Thoughts featuring GZA & Killah Priest
2. Superstar featuring Busta Rhymes
3. Black Tequila featuring Cappadonna & Trife
4. Drama featuring Joell Ortiz & The Game
5. 2getha Baby
6. Starkology
7. In Tha Park featuring Black Thought
8. Handcuffin’ Them Hoes featuring Jim Jones
9. Street Bullies featuring Sheek Louch, Wiggs & Sungod
10. Ghetto featuring Raekwon, Cappadonna & U-God
11. Troublemakers featuring Raekwon, Method Man & Redman
12. Rockbox
13. How You Like Me Baby featuring Fabolous (iTunes Bonus)

Artist: Redman
New Album: Reggie
Last Album:
Blackout 2! (2009) but technically Red Gone Wild (2007)
Synopsis: Funk Doctor Spot drops the madman image for a suit, tie and common sense.

Don’t believe me? Check out his new track as you place your order to avoid the lines. Plenty more where this comes from on 12.7.10.


Download — Redman – “Mic, Lights, Camera, Action!”

1. Reggie (Intro)
2. That’s Where I B (Feat. DJ Kool)
3. Def Jammable
4. Full Nelson feat. Ready Roc, Runt Dawg & Saukrates
5. Lift It Up
6. All I Do feat. Faith Evans
7. Lemme Get 2 feat. Saukrates
8. Mic, Lights, Camera, Action
9. Cheerz feat. Ready Roc & Melanie Rutherford
10. Rockin’ Wit Da Best feat. Kool Moe Dee
11. Lite 1 Witcha Boi feat. Method Man & Bun B
12. Whn The Lites Go Off feat. Poo Bear
13. Tiger Style Crane

Artist: Sheek Louch
New Album: Donnie G: Don Gorilla
Last Album: Silverback Gorilla (2008)
Synopsis: Chest-beating bravado to bump on the block, B.

The oft-overlooked LOX member continues his affection with apes on 12.14.10. Get your pre-order on primates!

1. Rhyme Animal (Intro)
2. Get It Poppin
3. Club Jam Packed feat. DJ Webstar
4. Out Of The Ghetto feat. Kobe
5. Make Some Noise feat. Fabolous
6. Blood & Tears feat. Casely
7. Nite Falls
8. Party After 2 (Feat. Jeremih)
9. Touch The Sky (Feat. Ryan Leslie & Adrienne Bailon)
10. Ol’ Skool (Feat. Bun B)
11. Picture Phone Foreplay (Feat. Kevin “KC” Cossom)
12. Dinner Guest (Feat. Jadakiss, Bully & Styles P.)
13. Ready4War

Where are you, Jeezy?

Around The Web