D’Angelo’s Cover Of “I’m So Glad You’re Mine” Will Make You Happy And Sad At The Same Time

03.20.14 4 years ago 17 Comments
Reception to celebrate the opening of "Giorgio Armani Exhibition" which will run through January 17, 2001

Getty Image

Remember last year when D’Angelo and Questlove had me all giddy over the prospect D would be dropping his long-awaited new album? And how the videos of his live performances at Brooklyn Bowl had us all primed for any sort of new material from the guy who had all the talent to be his generation’s Marvin Gaye?

We all were hit with the okie doke. Months passed and Quest seemingly went on about his life. He died on SVU and ignited a mini-firestorm by tweeting Little Brother would be reuniting. D’Angelo, on the other hand, was quiet. We all sort of went back into the normal routine of our lives, paying off student loans and such.

Then, today, March 20, 2014, the day the Good Lord granted Ohio State a first round exit in the NCAA Tournament, he also bestowed upon us new music from the aforementioned recluse crooner.

Well, sorta-kinda “new music.”

“I’m So Glad You’re Mine” is actually an Al Green cover and was performed when D travelled across the pond to London in September 1995. D pays homage to the legend who came before him, while injecting a new strand of musical DNA with his own style of jazz-like and soulful twists.

Seeing as how 99.99999% of us did not attend 19 years ago, the entire show is being released on March 25 in the form of Live at the Jazz Café, London: The Complete Show. More than half of the songs appearing on the project were never officially released in America, as the project was originally only liberated in Japan.

“Mine” is a gift and a curse. While it’s stupendous to hear anything vaguely fresh from D, it’s depressing realizing his album likely has the same release date as Jay Electronica’s. Beggars can’t be choose, though. I guess.

Take a glimpse at the tracklist below.

1. Introduction
2. Fencewalk (Mandrill cover)
3. Sweet Sticky Thing (Ohio Players cover)
4. Jonz in My Bones
5. Me and Those Dreamin’ Eyes of Mine
6. Sh*t, Damn, Motherf*cker
7. Cruisin’ (Smokey Robinson cover)
8. I’m Glad You’re Mine (Al Green cover)
9. Lady
10. Announcement

11. Can’t Hide Love
12. Brown Sugar

* previously unreleased

Previously: Your Daily Funk – D’Angelo & Questlove ‘Live At The Brooklyn Bowl’ Set | This Beyonce x D’Angelo Mashup Might Get Somebody Pregnant On New Year’s Eve | On D’Angelo, Questlove And An Album 13 Years In The Making

H/T: Billboard

Around The Web