Drake Drops Four New Songs, Announces ‘Nothing Was The Same’ Release Date

06.22.13 4 years ago 31 Comments

True to form, Drake followed up a series of cryptic tweets on Friday night by releasing not one, not two, not three, but four new songs in the wee hours of the morning (but just early enough to negate any “5 A.M. in Toronto” puns). And not unlike LeBron, Drake seems to be in a collaborative mood.

There are a couple of guest spots (a collaboration with OVO signee PARTYNEXTDOOR and a remix of buzzing ATL group Migos’ hooky “Versace” from their new mixtape), a shit-talking freestyle with Best Buy buddy J. Cole, and a presumably album-bound track “The Motion” – an artful post-dubstep-leaning number featuring SBTRKT affiliate and hauntingly soulful British vocalist Sampha. All four new cuts come after “On My Way” made its way to the ‘net earlier this week and his goal of being “the one you listen to this summer.”

To top it off, we have a release date for Drake’s third album, Nothing Was The Same – September 17

PreviouslyDrake: “I Want To Be The One You Listen To This Summer” | Drake Ft. James Fauntleroy – “On My Way”

Around The Web