Michael Crabtree Said He Lost His Vision After Helmet Hit On Super Bowl Final Drive

03.28.13 5 years ago 47 Comments

Nice for Michael Crabtree to keep this to himself for two months. On the Rich Eisen podcast to be posted later today, Crabtree tells Eisen that he temporarily lost vision after taking an unflagged helmet-to-helmet hit by Jimmy Smith on the 3rd and goal on the 49ers’ final drive, which came up short when a subsequent pass to Crabtree was incomplete.

Just looking at the play, an observer can tell it’s helmet-to-helmet on a defenseless receiver. The game’s over and it wasn’t flagged. That’s not gonna change, so there’s no point on harping further on the officiating consequences in that context. It is amusing that, so far as I know, no one from the league has acknowledged they might have flubbed this one. A penalty that was central to the league’s new direction not being called in the biggest moment of the year. Even as the NFL continues to pass rules aimed at curbing concussions and hits using the head.

Around The Web