Nas Announces ‘Illmatic XX’ Album Release Date, Shares Album Cover

02.04.14 4 years ago 30 Comments

Nas Ilmatic XX album cover

Yep, we’re all getting old: illmatic turns 20 this year. And as he did when his classic turned 10, Nas is using the benchmark to (re)re-release the project to the masses, with a fresh set of remixes. The extras (which will appear alongside the 10 originals).

1. “I’m A Villain” (Unreleased)
2. “The Stretch Armstrong and Bobbito Show on WKCR October 28, 1993” (Unreleased Freestyle)
3. “Halftime” (Butcher Remix)
4. “It Ain’t Hard To Tell” (Remix)
5. “One Love” (LG Main Mix)
6. “Life’s A Bitch” (Arsenal Mix)
7. “One Love” (One L Main Mix)
8. “The World Is Yours” (Tip Mix)
9. “It Ain’t Hard To Tell” (The Stink Mix)
10. “It Ain’t Hard To Tell” (The Laidback Remix)”

Expect an April 15th release date.

No need to waste space here talking about illmatic‘s worth, but most of these tracks should, at the very least, be worth a listen. The album’s ’10th Anniversary’ release provided us with some solid additions to the Nas canon; the “Life’s A Bitch” remix in particular was a great example of incredible lyrics being given a second life thanks to a vibrant new beat.

Will these 10 new songs be worth actual money? Maybe, maybe not. But they’ll probably be worth inclusion in your iTunes library, one way or another.


Around The Web