Will Saigon Give Us The Masterpiece We All Hope For?

12.15.10 7 years ago 18 Comments

Think back to the early fall of 2009. A semi-forgotten yet resolute rapper by the name of Raekwon was poised to get his solo career back to where he wanted to be by releasing a heatrock underneath our unsuspecting asses in the form of Only Built 4 Cuban Linx 2. Although he released his 2nd [official] album the same day as Jay-Z’s neo-genesis The Blueprint 3; losing an inevitable sales battle; Raekwon won over audiences by giving them something new that was actually quite old. His vaulted album still pulled its weight with a quality that couldn’t be tainted, even if the songs were recorded several years earlier.

Can lightning strike in same spot for Saigon?

In popular Hip-Hop culture, there’s Detox. For the underground fairy tales, there was the aforementioned Purple Tape Redux and a Reflection Eternal album, thus, leaving The Yardfather’s The Greatest Story Never Told as one of the few remaining bodies of music tru-school heads are still left daydreaming about. Well, the buzz has slowly been building up with a few leaks and visuals and there’s even an official release date and pre-order on 2.15.11. Now, without further adieu, Saigon and the album’s co-conspirator, Just Blaze, have unveiled the tracklisting for the alleged classic debut.

01. Station Identification (Intro) (Feat. Fatman Scoop) (Produced By Just Blaze)
02. The Invita Saigon (Feat. Q Tip And Fatman Scoop) (B. Carenard Nogias Music BMI) (Produced by Just Blaze)
03. Come On Baby (Feat. Swizz Beatz and Jay-Z) (B. Carenard, K. Dean. S. Carter J. Smith) (Produced by Just Blaze)
04. War (B. Carenard M. Shemer) (Produced by Scram Jones)
05. Enemies (B. Carenard D. Allen) (Produced by D. Allen)
06. Friends (B. Carenard J.Smith) (Produced by Just Blaze
07. The Greatest Story Never Told (B.Carenard J.Smith) (Produced by Just Blaze)
08. Clap (Feat. Faith Evans) (B. Carenrd F. Evans. J. Smith) (Produced by Just Blaze)
09. Preacher (B.Carenard J.Smith) (Produced by Just Blaze)
10. It’s Alright (Feat. Marsha Ambrosios) (B. Carenard M.Ambrosios J.Smith K.West) (Produced by Kanye West)
11. Believe It (B.Carenard J.Smith) (Produced by Just Blaze)
12. Give It To Me (Feat. Raheem DeVaughn) (B.Carenard R. DeVaughn) (Produced by SC)
13. What The Lovers Do (Feat. Devin The Dude) (B.Carenard) (Produced by Red Spyda)
14. Better Way (Feat. Layzie Bone) (B. Carenard) (Produced by Just Blaze)
15. Oh Yeah (Our Babies) (B. Carenard) (Produced by Buckwild)
16. Bring Me Down (B.Carenard D. Corbett) (Produced by D.J. Corbett)

As you can see, time-tested material such as “Believe It” and the Jay-Z featured “Come On Baby” are still onboard along with some likely strong additions in a Kanye beat and Devin The Dude feature. Will this album propel Saigon to the top of the premier rhymers or will he just be another face in the crowd? The Story is destined to be broadcasted but will it fall on deaf ears? While the initial anticipation isn’t there, surely there will be a newfound resurgence in the fans who were checking for it some odd three years ago.

Things could get interesting, even if for only a moment.


Around The Web