The NBA Will Have Six New Awards, Including Dunk Of The Year, Voted On By Fans

Getty Image

Fan voting for the NBA All-Star Game is used to determine starters — a point of contention for some — but the awards that the league hands out at the end of the year have always been voted on by media. With the new NBA Awards Show on June 26 (9 p.m. ET on TNT), which will be hosted by Drake because of course it will, the NBA will also introduce six new awards that will be exclusively decided by fan vote.

The media will still determine awards like MVP, DPOY, and the classic awards, but the NBA has decided to let fans get involved and hand out some more fun awards this year. The new awards can be voted on by fans at nba.com/nbaawards as well as on social media by using the award’s hashtag (like #DunkOfTheYear) and the nominee’s first and last name. Fans can vote for who should win for best dunk, block, assist, game-winner, and performance of the year, along with who has the league’s best style.

Here are the nominees for each award:


Los Angeles Lakers’ Larry Nance, Jr. vs. Brooklyn

Minnesota’s Zach LaVine vs. Phoenix

Oklahoma City’s Victor Oladipo vs. Atlanta


Cleveland’s Iman Shumpert

Chicago’s Dwyane Wade

Oklahoma City’s Russell Westbrook


San Antonio’s Kawhi Leonard vs. Houston

New York’s Kristaps Porzingis vs. Brooklyn

Miami’s Hassan Whiteside vs. Toronto


Cleveland’s Kyrie Irving vs. Golden State

Oklahoma City’s Russell Westbrook vs. Denver

Phoenix’s Tyler Ulis vs. Boston

Phoenix’s Devin Booker 70-point game vs. Boston

Houston’s James Harden nets 53-16-17 triple double vs. New York

Golden State’s Klay Thompson scores 60 in three quarters vs. Indiana

Oklahoma City’s Russell Westbrook with most points in a triple double, 57-13-11, vs. Orlando


Golden State’s Draymond Green to Stephen Curry to Kevin Durant

Denver’s Nikola Jokic with no-look pass

LA Clippers’ Chris Paul with wraparound pass