Make Room For Spider-Man: Marvel Announces New Release Dates For Marvel Phase Three

Now that Marvel is making a Spider-Man movie (HOLY SH*T, FINALLY!), Disney has announced new release dates for most of Marvel’s Phase Three movies. As we’ve already learned just moments ago, the Marvel/Sony Spider-Man crossover film is set to release on July 28th, 2017, which was the original release date for Thor: Ragnarok. It turns out, most of the slate is being shifted to make room for Spidey.

So far, we know both installments of Avengers: Infinity War will release on the same schedule: May 4th, 2018, and May 3rd, 2019. Disney has also not announced any changes to Captain America: Civil War (May 6th, 2016), Doctor Strange (November 4th, 2016), or Guardians of the Galaxy 2 (May 5th, 2017), and if any of that changes we’ll let you know.

Here’s what has changed. Disney announced new release dates for five Marvel films:

  • “Untitled Spider-Man crossover extravaganza hell yes gimme some” will release on July 28th, 2017, and they’re welcome to use that title.
  • Thor: Ragnarok — November 3rd, 2017
  • Black Panther — July 6th, 2018
  • Captain Marvel — November 2nd, 2018
  • Inhumans — July 12th, 2019

In other words, everything releasing on or after the release date Spider-Man snagged has to move one release date later. Anyone who has a problem with that can weigh their many options…