Dr. Dre, Eminem & Jermaine Dupri At The ASCAP Awards

06.26.10 9 years ago 13 Comments

ASCAP (the American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers hosted its 23rd annual Rhythm & Soul Music Awards tonight at the Beverly Hilton Hotel in Los Angeles, CA. The star-studded event, which was attended by over 650 leading songwriters, recording artists and music industry notables, paid special tribute to Dr. Dre and Janelle Monáe, and honored the songwriters and publishers of the most performed ASCAP songs on the 2009 R&B/Hip-Hop, Rap and Gospel charts.

Top awards were handed out to:

* Songwriters of the Year (tie): Ne-Yo, C. “Tricky” Stewart and The-Dream
* Song of the Decade: “We Belong Together” written by Jermaine Dupri, Johntá Austin and Manuel Seal
* Top Rap Song: “Best I Ever Had” written by Matthew “Boi-1da” Samuels
* Top R&B/Hip-Hop Song: “Blame It” written by Christopher Henderson, Brandon “Note” Melancon, The-Dream, C. “Tricky” Stewart and Nate Walka

One of the evening’s highlights was a special tribute to hip-hop pioneer Dr. Dre, who was honored with ASCAP’s Founders Award in recognition of “his achievements as a producer, rapper, entrepreneur and icon whose creative genius continues to shape the course of music.” To celebrate the legendary producer, Kid Capri performed a DJ set chronicling his career, and surprise guest Eminem shared some personal remarks and co-presented the award with ASCAP President and Chairman Paul Williams.

Around The Web