Run The Jewels Prepare Their Grand Return With ‘RTJ3’ Release Date And New Single ‘Legend Has It’

The return many have been waiting for is finally here. Run The Jewels just announced the official title and release date for their next project and shared a new track titled “Legend Has It,” too.

The album will officially be titled RTJ3 and will make its debut on January 13, 2017, which there is no better way to kick off the new year. The follow-up to 2014’s RTJ2 will host guest appearances from the likes of Danny Brown, Boots, TV On The Radio’s Tunde Adebimpe, Trina, Dungeon Fam alum Joi Gilliam and saxophonist Kamasi Washington.

Just as impressive as who’s on the album and what it will look like on paper is what the album will look like. The familiar fist and guns imagery associated with the group makes a return with a twist that shows the continued transition from two individual artists to a group with strong messages for fans. The concept comes from El and was brought to life by Nick Gazin and Tim Saccenti and was best described by the group in their press release.

“For us, the RTJ1 hands were about ‘taking what’s yours’ – your world, your life, your attitude. The RTJ2 hands were wrapped in bandages, signifying injury and healing, which for us represented the growth in ideas and tone of that album. For RTJ3 the bandages are off, the chain is gone and the hands have been transformed into gold. For us this represents the idea that there is nothing to take that exists outside of yourself. You are the jewel.”

“Legend Has It” is just the kind of boisterous braggadocio we’ve come to expect from the dastardly duo. The track comes after previous weeks saw release of album tracks “2100” with Boots and “Talk to Me.”

Listen to “Legend Has It” and check out the full tracklist for RTJ3 below.

Run The Jewels 3 Tracklist:

1. “Down” (feat. Joi Gilliam)
2. Talk To Me
3. “Legend Has It”
4. “Call Ticketron”
5. “Hey Kids (Bumaye)”(feat. Danny Brown)
6. “Stay Gold”
7. “Don’t Get Captured”
8. “Thieves! (Screamed the Ghost)” (feat. Tunde Adebimpe)
9. 2100 (feat. BOOTS)
10. “Panther Like a Panther (Miracle Mix)” (feat. Trina)
11. “Everybody Stay Calm”
12. “Oh Mama”
13. “Thursday in the Danger Room” (feat. Kamasi Washington)
14. “Report to the Shareholders/Kill Your Masters”