All The Best New Pop Music From This Week

Getty Image

With summer temperatures heating up, it’s only appropriate that summer pop is as well. Shawn Mendes and Camila Cabello surprised us this week with “Señorita,” a worthy Song Of The Summer contender. It seems like just yesterday the Jonas Brothers dropped their killer comeback album Happiness Begins, but the JoBros are back with another solid standalone single.

If the advent of Cancer season has you feeling moody, Mark Ronson’s new album Late Night Feelings is groovy, brooding disco-pop you can cry in the club to. Ahead of her project release on June 28, Kim Petras dropped the appropriately titled “Another One.” Aussie indie-pop artist Hatchie released her debut album, Keepsake, and it’s full of contemplative, atmospheric dream-pop brilliance.

Every week, Uproxx will round out the best new pop releases of the last seven days. Listen up.

BTS, Feat. Juice Wrld, “All Night”

The third soundtrack cut from BTS‘ upcoming BTS World video game might be their best yet. For “All Night,” RM and Suga team up with Juice Wrld for a synth-y, dreamy rap cut. The three rappers trade verses about being confident and generally killing it in the music business. At first glance, the Chicago rapper might seem like a strange collab choice for a Korean pop band, but BTS’ brilliant blend of hip-hop, pop, and dance elements make them one of the most thrilling acts in music right now. They’re just as comfortable rapping alongside Juice Wrld as they are delivering a synth-pop anthem alongside Charli XCX.

Kim Petras, “Another One”

As our own Derrick Rossignol pointed out in his write-up of the song’s release, there is no more apt name for a new Kim Petras single than “Another One.” The final pre-release single before Petras’ project Clarity is released on June 28, “Another One” is a brooding, mid-tempo track about pining for someone who might be pining for someone else. All jokes aside, though, every single from Clarity has been great so far. The project is shaping up to be one of the best of the summer.

Shawn Mendes, Feat. Camila Cabello, “Señorita”

Shawn Mendes and Camila Cabello have done a lot since their last collab, “I Know What You Did Last Summer,” in 2015. Cabello left Fifth Harmony, released a chart-topping solo album, and opened for 2018’s biggest stadium tour. Mendes released two more albums, grew out of his self-consciousness, and has apparently stopped wearing shirts with sleeves altogether. “Señorita” shows off the pair’s gorgeous vocals over a breezy, guitar-driven melody. Mendes is busy playing every arena in North America this summer, but between this and “If I Can’t Have You,” his new singles have been so good they deserve an album release behind them.

Zara Larsson, “All The Time”

Following her killer collab with BTS, Swedish singer-songwriter Zara Larsson has released another single off her upcoming studio album. “All The Time” is a lush heartbreaker, as Larsson laments the love that keeps plaguing her. “I die when I think of you with someone else and / I don’t know why, I don’t know why you’re dancing in my mind,” Larsson belts, her powerful voice nailing how agonizing unrequited love feels. The sparkling synths keep the song bright despite the lovelorn mood. Her song with BTS is still crushing the Apple charts, and hopefully the momentum from these new songs builds a buzzy platform for her upcoming album.

Major Lazer, Feat. Anitta, “Make It Hot”

Major Lazer and Anitta have teamed up for another banger. The Diplo-led electronic project and the Brazilian pop star previously collaborated on 2017’s “Sua Cara,” and it looks like “Make It Hot” is just as great. The song’s lyrics, sung by Anitta in Spanish, are playful and fun — she compares herself to Jenny From The Block and sings “If I twerk for you, you couldn’t handle it.” Major Lazer’s final album is on the way sometime this year.

Jonas Brothers, “Greenlight”

The Jonas Brothers‘ “Sucker” has been burning up the charts (sorry) all summer, but the brothers visited NBC’s series Songland to spark their next one. “Greenlight” is the single that came out of the episode’s writing and rewriting, and the song sparkles with all the care and creative voices that went into it. We knew Nick had a killer falsetto, but the song is also an incredible showcase for Joe’s own higher register.

Hatchie, “Her Own Heart”

Australian singer-songwriter Hatchie has finally released her debut album, Keepsake. The record is an eclectic collection, matching the dreamy, contemplative vibe of her EP Sugar & Spice with some different sonic influences. On “Her Own Heart,” Hatchie tells a third-person story about a girl breaking free and making it on her own. Over the song’s soothing, woozy melody, Hatchie is the encouraging best friend we all need, hearing out heartbreak and offering her gauzy, lo-fi wisdom.

Mark Ronson, Feat. Angel Olsen, “True Blue”

Mark Ronson‘s new album Late Night Feelings is seriously great. It’s 13 songs of sparkling, thoughtful heartbreak anthems, with Ronson spinning the instrumentals as a rotating series of female guests lend their words and voices. The album’s best collab is also its most unexpected. You wouldn’t think Angel Olsen‘s brooding indie rock would line up with Ronson’s glitzy production, but “True Blue” maintains Olsen’s sepia-toned nostalgia even with a glossy disco production.

Some artists covered here are Warner Music artists. Uproxx is an independent subsidiary of Warner Music Group.