Downtown Boys Announce Their Sub Pop Debut ‘The Cost Of Living’ With The Fiery Track ‘A Wall’

Contributing Writer

Getty Image

The Downtown Boys recently signed to Sub Pop and dropped the fiery single “Somos Chulas (No Somos Pendejas),” a clear sign that more was in the works. Now, there’s concrete news that goes beyond that gut feeling. Rhode Island’s horn-loving revolutionaries are coming back with a new album on August 11. The follow-up to their debut Full Communism will be called The Cost Of Living and the group have shared another single from the upcoming record.

“A Wall” is exactly the sort of record you want from Downtown Boys: angry and political in a very specific way, a series of slogans for the real world backed by some serious sax riffs. While “A wall is just a wall” might not catch the same way that “F*ck Donald Trump” did, it’s nice to know that people are out there innovating on the form. And there’s always room for a call-and-response built around “f*ck it.” Give “A Wall” a listen up top and check out the tracklist below.

1. “A Wall”
2. “I’m Enough (I Want More)”
3. “Somos Chulas (No Somos Pendejas)”
4. “Promissory Note”
5. “Because You”
6. “Violent Complicity”
7. “It Can’t Wait”
8. “Tonta”
9. “Heroes (Interlude)”
10. “Lips That Bite”@Dow
11. “Clara Rancia”
12. “Bulletproof (Outro)”

The Cost Of Living is available for pre-order here.

Around The Web