George FitzGerald And Lil Silva Shine On The Melancholic ‘Roll Back,’ The First From ‘All That Must Be’

After premiering “Roll Back” yesterday with Annie Mac on BBC Radio 1, George FitzGerald has shared the video for the track today, which you can watch above.

It’s a simple video in concept, that purposefully leaves a lot unsaid, letting FitzGerald’s songwriting to do most of the talking. It’s late at night, a woman is driving in her car with her child in the back seat as the highway’s lights flash past. Glances back at the child in the rear view mirror show her acting as a reminder for what we can assume is her father. Where is he now? The car ride is haunted by his absence and FitzGerald’s track makes the perfect score.

Joined by fellow producer Lil Silva, FitzGerald’s track features a minimal, bubbling melody that also emphasizes absences, creating a sense of longing that’s also felt in the vocal performance.

Of the collaboration, FitzGerald said in a press release that “’Roll Back’ is a sad song but there was a lot of joy in making it with Lil Silva. Late night sessions in London and Bedford. Empty trains and night buses home. Things just clicked perfectly in the studio.”

The release of this track and video arrive with the announcement of a new album, which we speculated about in the fall following the release of hit single, “Burns.” All That Must Be is due out this March and will be the follow up to FitzGerald’s 2015 debut. in addition to contributions from Lil Silva, the record also features Hudson Scott, Bonobo and Tracey Thorn.

1. “Two Moons Under”
2. “Frieda”
3. “Burns”
4. “Roll Back” feat. Lil Silva
5. “Siren Calls”
6. “Nobody But You” feat. Hudson Scott
7. “Outgrown” feat. Bonobo
8. “Half Light” feat. Tracey Thorn
9. “The Echo Forgets”
10. “Passing Trains”

All That Must Be arrives on 3/9 via Double Six / Domino.