Here Is ‘Otis’ — The First Track Off Jay-Z and Kanye’s Watch The Throne


Well here’s something to get you going on a Thursday morning: Last night Jay-Z and Kanye West leaked the first single off of their ridiculously anticipated collaboration, Watch The Throne — a song titled “Otis” that samples Otis Redding’s classic, “Try A Little Tenderness.”

About the song — which I think is quite good, but not great — our boy Gotty at the Smoking Section noted: “Jay & ‘Ye are probably the only two who could afford to clear an Otis Redding sample and this is just the kind of track needed to really crank up the anticipation for the album’s August 1st release date. Not like it actually needs it, but you catch my drift.”

Watch The Thrown will go on sale online on August 1st. Here’s the full list of songs on the album, with production credits…

1. No Church In The Wild feat. Frank Ocean (Prod. By Kanye West, Mike Dean & Ken Lewis)
2. Lift Off feat. Beyoncé (Prod. By Kanye West, Mike Dean, Jeff Bhasker, Q-Tip & Don Jazzy) (Add Vocals. By Seal, Mr Hudson, Don Jazzy, Bankulli and Ricardo Louis)
3. Niggas In Paris (Produced by Hit-Boy)
4. Otis feat. Otis Redding (Produced by Kanye West)
5. Gotta Have It (Produced by The Neptunes)
6. New Day (Produced by The RZA)
7. That’s My Bitch (Produced by Q-Tip & Kanye West)
8. Who Gon Stop Me (Produced by Sham “Sak Pase” Joseph & Kanye West)
9. Murder To Excellence (Produced by Swizz Beatz & S1)
10. Welcome To The Jungle (Produced by Swizz Beatz)
11. Made In America feat. Frank Ocean (Produced by Sham “Sak Pase” Joseph) [previously Sweet Baby Jesus]
12. Why I Love You feat. Mr Hudson (Produced by Mike Dean & Kanye West)
13. Illest Motherf*cker Alive (Produced by Southside & Kanye West)
14. H•A•M (Produced by Lex Luger and Kanye West)
15. Primetime (Produced by No I.D.)
16. The Joy feat. Curtis Mayfield

Anyway, enjoy…

And you can download it free here.

Around The Web