The First Unheard Material From Jeff Buckley In Years Will Be Released This Spring

[protected-iframe id=”9e547619ca53ef84c593d4b8dfd6ec24-60970621-61885062″ info=”″ width=”640″ height=”360″ frameborder=”0″ allowfullscreen=””]

Jeff Buckley fans who have been missing him dearly have a reason to get excited: a new album of cover songs by the late musician is going to be released on March 11, 2016. The 10 tracks include songs by artists including Bob Dylan, The Smiths, and Led Zeppelin. The songs were recorded at the beginning of Buckley’s career as a demo for producers to get an idea of the then-unknown singer’s sound; the collection has also been called “The Addabbo Sessions.” Also featured is the very first recording of Buckley’s own “Grace” and “Dream of You and I.” Here is the full track listing:

01 Just Like A Woman (Bob Dylan cover)
02 Everyday People (Sly & The Family Stone cover)
03 Don’t Let The Sun Catch You Cryin’ (First recorded by Louis Jordan)
04 Grace (original)
05 Calling You (Jevetta Steele cover)
06 Dream Of You And I (original)
07 The Boy With The Thorn In His Side (The Smiths cover)
08 Poor Boy Long Way From Home (traditional blues song, Bukka White cover)
09 Night Flight (Led Zeppelin cover)
10 I Know It’s Over (The Smiths cover)

But while you wait until next year, you can listen to Buckley’s masterful cover of Sly and the Family Stone’s “Everyday People.”

It’s been 18 years since Buckley drowned in Memphis — he would have turned 49 on November 17 — and it’s heartbreaking to think of what could have been. But at least we’ll have these tracks which were responsible for getting him on a bigger stage.

(via Pitchfork)