Porches Announces His New Album ‘The House’ With The Dance-Ready Single ‘Find Me’

A couple weeks ago, Porches (aka Aaron Maine) teased a new album with the short and anthemic single “Country,” but the song wasn’t accompanied by an official album announcement. Now, the details have arrived: Porches’ third album is called The House, and it will be available on January 19 via Domino. Here’s the cover art:

The album announcement comes with new song “Find Me,” an upbeat and danceable track with a video directed by Maine and Nicholas Harwood, both of whom were also behind the “Country” clip. Maine also shared a lengthy statement about the album, in which he calls The House “a diary” and “an exercise in documenting my immediate experiences”:

The House is a diary. The House began immediately with a sense of urgency. A different kind of urgency than I had experienced previously when writing songs. I wasn’t sure exactly what this meant while it was happening, but it felt necessary to embrace it.

The songwriting became an exercise in documenting my immediate experiences, which writing has always been for me to a certain extent, but something particular was compelling me to try to portray these moments in a more linear way. Writing this record was a form of meditation, an escape, a routine – selfish at times, as it became an excuse to avoid my immediate surroundings.

Half the time, I still won’t understand what was going on in my head when I listen to a song I wrote — even months later — but things seemed to be changing fast, and writing these kind of vignettes was soothing to me, a way to kind of slow down time. I don’t think I was necessarily working through anything during the process of writing, if anything maybe avoiding that, but the album has become something different to me in hindsight: a way to look back at a time in my life and see my guts at play. To try and understand what was going through my head as I slid these songs out is an interesting experience, sometimes exciting, sometimes embarrassing, sometimes heartbreaking, sometimes still totally confusing. I am happy to have these 14 songs in one place to look back on and stumble through and hopefully learn something from, and I am excited to share them with you.”

The House is out on January 19th via Domino and is available for pre-order. Watch the video for “Find Me” above, and check out the tracklist for The House below.

1. “Leave the House”
2. “Find Me”
3. “Understanding”
4. “Now the Water”
5. “Country”
6. “By My Side”
7. “Åkeren”
8. “Anymore”
9. “Wobble”
10. “Goodbye”
11. “Swimmer”
12. “W Longing”
13. “Ono”
14. “Anything U Want”