Prophets Of Rage Played Live For The First Time Tuesday Night In L.A.

Prophets of Rage, the new band consisting of three-fourths of Rage Against the Machine, Chuck D of Public Enemy and B-Real of Cypress Hill, debuted Tuesday night in front of a sold out crowd at the legendary Los Angeles club, Whiskey a Go Go. The show had been rumored since news of the newly-formed group was announced in mid-May and, in a recent interview, the band talked about how it was the only definite appointment on their respective calendars.

According to the lucky people there, they did not disappoint. The setlist was comprised of songs from all of the band members previous/other bands, as well as a few bars of the Beastie Boys’ classic “No Sleep ‘Til Brooklyn” that segued way into Public Enemy’s “Fight the Power.” Prophets of Rage also played an original tune towards the end of the set. “The Party’s Over” reportedly references Donald Trump, who you may have heard is running for president, something Rage Against the Machine predicted years ago.

Here’s the full setlist:

Prophets of Rage (Public Enemy)
Guerilla Radio (Rage Against the Machine)
Bombtrack (RATM)
Miuzi Weighs a Ton (PE)
People of the Sun (RATM)
Rock Superstar (Cypress Hill)
Testify (RATM)
Cypress Hill/Public Enemy Medley (“Shoot Em Up,” “Can’t Trust It,” “Insane in the Membrane,” “Bring The Noise,” “I Ain’t Going Out Like That,” “Welcome to the Terrordome”)
Sleep Now in the Fire (RATM)
New Song
Know Your Enemy (RATM)
The Party’s Over (Prophets of Rage)
No Sleep ‘Til Brooklyn/Fight the Power (Beastie Boys/Public Enemy)
Bulls on Parade (RATM)
Killing in the Name (RATM) (encore)

No official footage has been released, but clips of the show have found their way to various corners of the Internet.

(Via Fuse)