Rick Rubin Is Working On An Album Composed Entirely Of ‘Star Wars’ Sound Effects

Contributing Writer
02.08.16 2 Comments


Two nerd worlds are about to collide: legendary rock, hip-hop, and dance producer Rick Rubin is curating an album based entirely around Star Wars sound effects. The noted Def Jam co-founder and esteemed member of hip-hop’s Jedi Council is bringing together a who’s who of famous oddball producers for Star Wars Headspace.

Flying Lotus, Kaskade, Baauer, Rustie, Royksopp and Breakbot all contributed their own twists on the sounds of that famous far, far away galaxy. (There’s no telling if they all met up in a wretched hive of scum and villainy or just sent their tracks via droid.) Rubin himself contributed a track titled “NR-G7.”

The album also features a collaborative remix between Rubin, A-Trak, and the group Shag Kava (known in the real world as Force Awakens director J.J. Abrams and Hamilton superstar Lin-Manuel Miranda).

The album drops digitally on February 19 and physically on March 18. Check out the tracklist below.

Star Wars Headspace:

      01 Kaskade: “C-3P0’s Plight”
      02 GTA: “Help Me!”
      03 TroyBoi: “Force”
      04 Baauer: “Cantina Boys”
      05 Shag Kava: “Jabba Flow: Rick Rubin Re-Work” [ft. A-Trak]
      06 Claude VonStroke: “R2 Knows” [ft. Barry Drift]
      07 Rick Rubin: “NR-G7”
      08 Bonobo: “Ghomrassen”
      09 Röyksopp: “Bounty Hunters”
      10 ATTLAS: “Sunset Over Manaan”
      11 Flying Lotus: “R2 Where R U?”
      12 Shlohmo: “Druid Caravan of Smoke”
      13 Rustie: “EWOK PUMPP”
      14 Galantis: “Scruffy-Looking Nerfherder”
      15 Breakbot: “Star Tripper”

(via Pitchfork)

Around The Web