The Refs Totally Botched A Call That Ultimately Gave The Seahawks A Victory

Entertainment Writer
10.06.15 4 Comments

So the Lions got their hearts ripped out in the closing moments of Monday night’s matchup with the Seahawks, as Calvin Johnson had the ball smashed from his possession just as he was lunging for the end zone to take the lead. Kam Chancellor swoops in with an avenging fist from the holdout line and then KJ Wright bats the ball out of the back of the end zone.

The only problem is that the bat was apparently against the rules and shouldn’t have counted. Even Dean Blandino, the NFL’s head of officials, says the play was illegal:

And as it turns out, the rules support this and the bat at the end of the play was illegal. That means the Lions would’ve gotten the ball back and another chance to score (or ruin the lives of Lions fans, you know it’s true).

Around The Web

DIME Instagram