Georges St-Pierre Chokes Out Michael Bisping To Cap Off A Night Of Upsets And Title Changes At UFC 217

Getty Image

On Saturday night, UFC 217 hit Madison Square Garden, and was headlined by one of the most anticipated pure MMA fights of the year. (We have to make that distinction, thanks to McGregor vs. Mayweather.) Georges St-Pierre returned to fight for the first time in four years, looking to solidify his place in the argument for the greatest of all time.

GSP took on UFC Middleweight Champion Michael Bisping in the main event, and they already had two tough act to follow after two title changes on the main card. First, Rose Namajunas defeated the previously untouchable Joanna Jędrzejczyk in the first round to become the new Women’s Strawweight Champion.

And then T.J. Dillashaw recaptured the Bantamweight Championship by defeating Cody Garbrandt via KO in the second round.

So with anticipation already sky-high, an on the heels of two upset title changes, living legend St-Pierre stepped into the Octagon against one of the most hated (or at least most polarizing) UFC fighters of all time.

GSP scored at least one takedown on Bisping in each of the first three rounds, but while he was in Bisping’s guard in the third round, Bisping opened up a massive cut on St-Pierre’s forehead from the bottom. St-Pierre gave up the guard and stood up, but the blood didn’t deter him from flooring Bisping with a left hand, and shortly thereafter taking Bisping’s back and finishing him with a rear naked choke to recapture the title he vacated back in 2013.

St-Pierre’s record now stands at 26-2, and he hasn’t lost a bout since April of 2007.

The full results for UFC 217:

Middleweight Championship: Georges St-Pierre def. Michael Bisping (c) via submission (rear naked choke), 4:20 Round 3
Bantamweight Championship: T.J. Dillashaw def. Cody Garbrandt (c) via KO (punches), 2:41 Round 2
Women’s Strawweight Championship: Rose Namajunas def. Joanna Jędrzejczyk (c) via TKO (punches), 3:03 Round 1
Welterweight: Stephen Thompson def. Jorge Masvidal via unanimous decision (30-26, 30-27, 30-27)
Middleweight: Paulo Costa def. Johny Hendricks via TKO (punches), 1:23 Round 2

Preliminary Card

Lightweight: James Vick def. Joseph Duffy via TKO (punches), 4:59 Round 2
Heavyweight: Mark Godbeer def. Walt Harris via DQ (illegal head kick), 4:29 Round 2
Light Heavyweight: Ovince Saint Preux def. Corey Anderson via KO (head kick), 1:25 Round 3
Welterweight: Randy Brown def. Mickey Gall via unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 29-27)
Heavyweight: Curtis Blaydes def. Oleksiy Oliynyk via TKO (doctor stoppage), 1:56 Round 2
Bantamweight: Ricardo Ramos def. Aiemann Zahabi via KO (spinning back elbow), 1:58 Round 3