The Black Keys explore psych-rock on new song ‘Fever’

The Black Keys are back. Last week, the band announced that its first new album in almost three years, “Turn Blue,” will be released May 13 and, today, dropped its first single, “Fever.” Listen to the new song, watch the album teaser and check out the tracklist below.

According to a press release, “Turn Blue” features production by Danger Mouse, who produced and co-wrote the Keys” last album, 2011′s “El Camino,” and assisted on “Attack & Release” and “Brothers.”

Drummer Patrick Carney said in a statement: ”On this record, we let the songs breathe and explored moods, textures and sounds.” They wrote that the title “Turn Blue” could be a reference to: “A: Suffocation, B: Sadness, C: Numbness from extreme cold, D: A Cleveland late night TV host from the 1960s named Ghoulardi, E: All of the above.”

The Ohio rockers opt for a Sixties-inspired psychedelic sound on “Fever,” which layers a heavy organ melody over the duo”s bluesy guitar-and-drum style. The album teaser also nods to “Turn on, tune in, drop out” counterculture as it captures the trippy visuals of a record spinning.

The band is set to appear at a number of festivals this summer, but so far, only one U.S. date at Alabama”s Hangout Music fest, May 16-18.

Here”s the tracklist for The Black Keys” “Turn Blue”:
01. Weight of Love 
02. In Time
03. Turn Blue
04. Fever
05. Year in Review
06. Bullet in the Brain
07. It”s Up to You Now
08. Waiting on Words
09. 10 Lovers
10. In Our Prime
11. Gotta Get Away