Dust off that Walkman: ‘Guardians of the Galaxy’ soundtrack to be issued on cassette

(CBR) When Mondo announced early this month that it will release the hit soundtrack “Guardians of the Galaxy: Awesome Mix Volume 1” on deluxe vinyl, a common response was, “That”s great, but shouldn”t it be on cassette?” Well, now it will be, undoubtedly leading to refrains of, “What”s a cassette?”

According to Billboard, the limited-edition release from Marvel Music/Hollywood Records will arrive Nov. 17, exclusively to independent retailers associated with Record Store Day. The first cassette released by Disney Music Group since 2003, it will remain available through Dec. 31.

Each cassette will come with a digital-download version of the soundtrack.

Debuting July 29, the soundtrack to Marvel”s blockbuster space adventure spent two weeks at No. 1 on the Billboard Top 200; it”s the first soundtrack consisting entirely of previously released songs to reach the top of the chart.

According to Billboard, “Guardians of the Galaxy: Awesome Mix Volume 1” has sold more than 543,000 copies.

Here”s the track listing:

1. “Hooked on a Feeling” – Blue Swede
2. “Go All the Way” – Raspberries
3. “Spirit in the Sky” – Norman Greenbaum
4. “Moonage Daydream” – David Bowie
5. “Fooled Around and Fell in Love” – Elvin Bishop
6. “I Want You Back” – The Jackson 5
7. “I”m Not in Love” – 10cc
8. “Come and Get Your Love” – Redbone
9. “Cherry Bomb” – The Runaways
10. “Escape (The Piña Colada Song)” – Rupert Holmes
11. “O-O-H Child” – The Five Stairsteps
12. “Ain”t No Mountain High Enough” – Marvin Gaye and Tammi Terrell