The fake news beast just won’t stop. Earlier on Friday, rumors began about Instagram beginning to notify users when other people take a screenshot of their photos. Here’s how that tale began…
Soon, the rumor spread like wildfire with a side of stalk-y panic.
However, these folks didn’t realize the whole story. Instagram has updated their app with a Snapchat-like feature that will only notify users if someone replays or screenshot a photo or video that was sent in a direct message. Instagram became aware of the confusion and issued a statement, stating there is nothing for their users to worry about:
Swipe right into the camera to take a photo or video, then tap the arrow to send it privately. You can choose a group or create one in just a few taps — and you can also send to individual friends at the same time. Send anything you want, from inside jokes to your worst selfies. Unlike other messages in Direct, these photos and videos disappear from your friends’ inboxes after they have seen them. And you’ll see if they replayed it or took a screenshot.
It’s a sigh of relief for some, but apparently, people didn’t read the fine print of the rules. These people will undoubtedly feel mass relief at being able to screenshot to their hearts’ content.
Instagram could have avoided this situation if they were clearer about their app’s latest update, as opposed to vague wording. People can now return to their usual Instagram viewing habits.
(Via Business Insider)