Michael Jackson’s new ‘This Is It’ single to stream late Sunday

10.09.09 8 years ago

If you’re the early-to-bed type, you may want to set your alarm for late Sunday night: the late Michael Jackson’s previously unreleased track “This Is It” will begin streaming on his This Is It website at midnight (early Monday morning, technically).

Though the track won’t be available for download, it could be all yours once the double-disc “This Is It” album, which accompanies the film of the same name, is released on Oct. 27. The film is due the same day.

As previously reported, the song will feature Jackon and his famous brothers, will be available in two differetn versions (original and orchestral)  and was mixed under top secret security at Capitol Studios in Hollywood. It will roll over the close of the movie. A new photo, which is the single’s artwork, will also be available come Sunday night.

The first disc has the studio versions of big hits like “Billie Jean,” plus the two “This Is It” takes. The second disc contains only four tracks: demo versions of “She’s Out Of My Life,” “Wanna Be Startin’ “Somethin’,” and “Beat It” and a recently uncovered Jackson poem “Planet Earth.” A little weak to warrant a two-disc set — which will likely carry a double-disc price — but the album also comes with a 36-page photo booklet of snapshots taken during his This Is It concert event rehearsals.

Here is the tracklist for “This Is It”:

Disc 01

   1. Wanna Be Startin” Somethin”
   2. Jam
   3. They Don”t Care About Us
   4. Human Nature
   5. Smooth Criminal
   6. The Way You Make Me Feel
   7. Shake Your Body (Down To The Ground)
   8. I Just Can”t Stop Loving You
   9. Thriller
  10. Beat It
  11. Black Or White
  12. Earth Song
  13. Billie Jean
  14. Man In The Mirror
  15. This Is It
  16. This Is It (Orchestra Version)

Disc 02

   1. She”s Out Of My Life (Demo)
   2. Wanna Be Startin” Somethin” (Demo)
   3. Beat It (Demo)
   4. Planet Earth (Poem)

Around The Web