Jakob Dylan Covered The Mamas & The Papas For The Stacked ‘Echo In The Canyon’ Soundtrack

Press Here

For a while now, it’s been known that Andrew Slater, a producer and former president of Capitol Records, was working on Echo In The Canyon, a documentary that explores the ’60s Laurel Canyon music scene. Today, though, there is some exciting new information about the movie: It will be accompanied by a soundtrack album (out on May 24 via BMG), featuring covers of classic songs from the era by contemporary artists. The first taste of the soundtrack is a cover of The Mamas & The Papas’ “Go Where You Wanna Go” (their first single back in 1965) performed by Jakob Dylan and Jade Castrinos, the latter formerly of Edward Sharpe And The Magnetic Zeros.

[protected-iframe id=”8c97dfd2e1a897bbef56c192fb2d18d5-60970621-76566046″ info=”https://open.spotify.com/embed?uri=spotify:album:3GsHCtikJL5jFkomRbkwQk” width=”650″ height=”380″ frameborder=”0″]

Aside from those two, the album also features recordings by Neil Young, Cat Power, Beck, Fiona Apple, Norah Jones, Regina Spektor, Stephen Stills, and Josh Homme, the latter of whom covers The Monkees’ “She,” a recording that isn’t in the film and is therefore exclusive to the soundtrack. Dylan (who is an executive producer of the film) also plays a significant role in the movie, as he conducts interviews with artists like Brian Wilson, Stephen Stills, David Crosby, Graham Nash, Michelle Phillips, Jackson Browne, Ringo Starr, Eric Clapton, Roger McGuinn, John Sebastian, and Lou Adler.

Slater previously spoke about the film, saying in a 2018 interview:

“Jakob’s on a journey, speaking to artists about recording those songs to find out why they wrote them and, in the course of it, he finds out all these personal details behind the songs. […] That period is really the singer-songwriter and the search for the individual. In ’65, ’66, ’67, it’s a whole new world. It really becomes the electrification of folk music. The Byrds electrify folk music, which is something that might not have happened in New York because of the rigidity of the folk scene.”

Listen to Dylan’s rendition of “Go Where You Wanna Go” above, and check out Echo In The Canyon soundtrack tracklist and watch a trailer for the film below.

1. “Go Where You Wanna Go (feat. Jakob Dylan and Jade Castrinos)”
2. “The Bells Of Rhymney (feat. Beck)”
3. “You Showed Me (feat. Cat Power)”
4. “She (feat. Josh Homme)”
5. “In My Room (feat. Fiona Apple)”
6. “Goin’ Back (feat. Beck)”
7. “Never My Love (feat. Norah Jones)”
8. “It Won’t Be Wrong (feat. Fiona Apple)”
9. “No Matter What You Do (feat. Regina Spektor)”
10. “Questions (feat. Jakob Dylan and Stephen Stills)”
11. “I Just Wasn’t Made For These Times (feat. Neil Young)”
12. “Expecting To Fly (feat. Regina Spektor)”
13. “What’s Happening (feat. Neil Young)”

The Echo In The Canyon soundtrack is out 5/24 via BMG.