Darren Aronofsky will lead the 2015 Berlin Film Festival Jury

11.04.14 3 years ago

Paramount Pictures

Prepping for its Feb. 5, 2015 opening night, the Berlin Film Festival has named Darren Aronofsky its jury President. Despite never having a film play the Berlinale, the “Noah” director rides the good graces of Venice, Toronto, and Sundance to the head of the German fest”s table.

“Darren Aronofsky has distinguished himself as an outstanding protagonist in contemporary auteur cinema,” said Berlin chief Dieter Kosslick in a statement. “In his artistic approach he consistently sounds out cinematic language and its aesthetic possibilities. I”m pleased to be able to welcome him as Jury President of the Berlinale 2015.”

Aronofksy has earned critical praise and box office success for his part work, including “Pi,” “Requiem for a Dream,” “The Fountain,” “The Wrestler,” “Black Swan,” and this year”s “Noah.” The jury position adds Aronofsky to the ranks of recent Presidents, including Isabella Rossellini, Mike Leigh, Wong Kar Wei, and James Schamus.

“At the Berlinale, the cinema is always exciting and fascinating,” Aronofsky remarked in the same statement. “I am looking forward to watching the latest from the greatest in one of the great cities on the planet.”

The 2015 Berlinale runs Feb. 5 through Feb. 15, 2015.

Around The Web