Listen: Jack White licks his fingers on ‘Sixteen Saltines’

03.13.12 6 years ago 2 Comments

Columbia Records

If the first two songs we”re hearing are any indication, Jack White”s solo album, “Blunderbuss,” will be all over the place.

Today, White began streaming “Sixteen Saltines” on his website. He debuted the song on “Saturday Night Live” a few weeks ago, but that was a bit of a loud mess. The recorded version is also very loud, but hardly a mess. It”s a batch of glam, rock, blues, and Jack White”s special sauce. And it goes hard.

[More after the jump…]

He likes to eat his 16-not 17, not 15 -Saltines and like his fingers. Inbetween, he”s talking about his girl who has stickers on her locker. The lyrics are more about creating a feel than any kind of linear story. And they don’t really matter. This track is all about the snarling guitar and insistent drums.

It”s as far from first single, “Love Interruption” as it can be. It”s like an electric volt to your system. “Blunderbuss” is out April 24 on Third Man/Columbia. However, if you order the 7” vinyl single of “Sixteen Saltines,” it comes with the non-LP B-Side, “Love Is Blindness,” White’s cover of the U2 tune.

White will headline Third Man’s first  SXSW Showcase on Friday in Austin.

What do you think?

Follow Melinda Newman on Twitter @HitfixMelinda

“Blunderbuss” Tracklisting:

01. Missing Pieces
02. Sixteen Saltines
03. Freedom At 21
04. Love Interruption
05. Blunderbuss
06. Hypocritical Kiss
07. Weep Themselves To Sleep
08. I”m Shakin”
09. Trash Tongue Talker
10. Hip (Eponymous) Poor Boy
11. I Guess I Should Go To Sleep
12. On And On And On
13. Take Me With You When You Go

Around The Web