Listen: Ryan Adams ‘Shines’ for Judd Apatow’s ‘This Is 40’ soundtrack

12.03.12 5 years ago

Ryan Adams’ “Ashes & Fire” had a lot less production sheen on it than, say, “Easy Tiger.” Well, consider his redux of “Shine Through the Dark” to have an even smaller amount of futzing.

The song has been reworked to fit into Judd Apatow’s new film “This Is 40,” and according to EW, you can expect to see and hear a little more from Adams in “40” than just a line in end credits.

“Shine Through the Dark” — a live recording — is another good reason why you’d want to live your life inside of pedal steel, with it’s harumphs and sighs lining the sides of this uptempo tune. The track was originally recorded and released for “Live From Nowhere Near You: Volume 2,” a charity comp released last year.

Listen to the new “Shine Through the Dark” here.

Fiona Apple’s contribution to “This Is 40,” “Dull Tool,” has been leaked on and off. Keep your ears peeled.

Here is the tracklist for the “This is 40” soundtrack:

1. I”m Your Angel – Yoko Ono
2. Always Judging – Norah Jones
3. What Do You Like? – Graham Parker with Punch Brothers
4. Sick Of You – Lindsey Buckingham
5. Rewrite – Paul Simon
6. Shine Through The Dark (Live) – Ryan Adams
7. Lunch Box Odd Sox – Paul McCartney
8. Brother & Sister – Lindsey Buckingham Featuring Norah Jones
9. Theme 1 (Debbie & Oliver) – Jon Brion
10. Watch The Moon Come Down – Graham Parker & The Rumour
11. Days That We Die – Loudon Wainwright
12. She Acts Like You – Lindsey Buckingham
13. Dull Tool – Fiona Apple
14. Lucky Now (Live) – Ryan Adams
15. I Got You – Wilco
16. Live & Die – The Avett Brothers

Bonus track (digital only):

17. Protection (Live) – Graham Parker & The Rumour

Around The Web