U2 Formally Announces ‘Songs Of Experience’ With The Kendrick Lamar Collab, ‘Get Out Of Your Own Way’

Yesterday’s rumors are true: U2 has officially revealed the cover art and tracklist for their upcoming album today. The band also confirmed that the rumored release date is accurate: Songs Of Experience will be available on December 1. The announcement came with one sort-of-new song and one truly fresh track: The band premiered the studio version of the previously teased “The Blackout” and a brand new song called “Get Out Of Your Own Way,” both on Zane Lowe’s Beats 1 Apple Radio show.

“Get Out Of Your Own Way,” for which the band has already shot a video in Mexico City, is clearly inspired by the organ intro of “Where The Streets Have No Name,” with the electronic drums of “Beautiful Day” thrown in for good measure. It’s a real throwback track, one that should give fans who miss the old Kanye U2 more reason to get excited about the upcoming album.

Speaking of hip-hop, Kendrick Lamar makes an appearance on the song, with a speech about arrogance and wealth at the end of the track. U2, of course, famously guested on Kendrick Lamar’s new album as well.

Find the tracklist for Songs Of Experience below. The band also announced new North American dates for the eXPERIENCE + iNNOCENCE Tour, so find those below as well.

1. “Love Is All We Have Left”
2. “Lights of Home”
3. “You’re The Best Thing About Me”
4. “Get Out of Your Own Way”
5. “American Soul”
6. “Summer of Love”
7. “Red Flag Day”
8. “The Showman (Little More Better)”
9. “The Little Things That Give You Away”
10. “Landlady”
11. “The Blackout”
12. “Love Is Bigger Than Anything in Its Way”
13. “13 (There is a Light)”

Deluxe vinyl bonus tracks:
14. “Ordinary Love (Extraordinary Mix)”
15. “Book Of Your Heart”
16. “Lights of Home (St Peter’s String Version)”

Deluxe CD and digital bonus tracks:
14. “Ordinary Love (Extraordinary Mix)”
15. “Book Of Your Heart”
16. “Lights of Home (St Peter’s String Version)”
17. “You’re The Best Thing About Me (U2 vs Kygo)

05/02 — Tulsa, OK @ BOK Center
05/04 — St. Louis, MO @ Scottrade Center
05/07 — San Jose, CA @ SAP Center
05/11 — Las Vegas, NV @ T-Mobile Arena
05/15 — Los Angeles, CA @ The Forum
05/22 — Chicago, IL @ United Center
05/26 — Nashville, TN @ Bridgestone Arena
05/28 — Atlanta, GA @ Infinite Energy Arena
06/05 — Montreal, QC @ Bell Centre
06/09 — Uniondale, NY @ NYCB Live, Home of the Nassau Veterans Memorial Coliseum
06/13 — Philadelphia, PA @ Wells Fargo Center
06/17 — Washington, DC @ Capital One Arena
06/21 — Boston, MA @ TD Garden
06/25 — New York, NY @ Madison Square Garden
06/29 — Newark, NJ @ Prudential Center